We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your wife to the romantic River Inn--she will love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
memphis, tn
1 review
“Take your wife to the romantic River Inn--she will love it!”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I surprised my wife with a one night stay at the River Inn for our second anniversary. To my delight, she was overwhelmed by the service and pampering. Our concierge and bell hop were very polite. Our room was well decorated and the bed plush and comfortable. On the rooftop terrace, we had drinks and spoke to the pleasant bar tender while we waited on our reservation at Currents, River Inn's fine dining French restaurant. After a wonderful evening meal, we made it in time to the terrace to watch the sun set over the Mississippi River. Then my wife and I took a romantic walk down the Mississippi Greenway and looked at all the beautiful homes in Harbor Town that run parallel to the River. In the evening, we were greeting by a kind housekeeper who served us complimentary port wine and truffles. After a pleasant evening, the next morning we had a wonderful complimentary breakfast at Currents and were served by one of the best servers we have ever had.

River Inn is the hotel in Memphis to take your wife for a wonderful, romantic evening.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_ron_Memphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    121
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
610
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Stayed here for three nights in April and it's just wonderful. From the first phonecall to the moment we left we were overwhelmed by the friendliness and service. We stayed in a delux king; the bed was HUGE- four poster too. The bathroom was really big too. Breakfast could feed a family of ten! Lots of choice and healthy options available. Our room had a view of the Mississippi too. The hotel was full although so quiet you'd think you were the only guests. The staff were amazingly friendly too- real southern charm!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IheartNYCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The setting is just beautiful. Neat restaurants/shops and residential condos/townhouses around. Just across the street from the Mississippi Greenway. The desk clerks had our check-in materials waiting on us (AND a glass of wine). OUr room was just beautiful. AFter settling in, we went for a jog down the greenway on a picture perfect Tennessee spring Sunday evening. It's in a safe, lovely part of downtown Memphis. That evening a delightful maid turned down our beds and gave us a glass of wine and chocolates. As we checked out the next morning, the restaurant manager (of Currents) had the Little Bar tender make us complimentary lattes. I will go out of my way to stay here again (let alone if it's on my route!).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stractness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Wonderful service. Staff was friendly and professional. Great breakfast. Heavenly beds. Can't wait until our next visit. Patrick was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
300 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had a great 3 night stay here which was helped by a good offer on Hotels.com. The hotel is a short walk (15 minutes) from the city centre but is far enough away from the noise of Beale Street to feel as if you are in a rural location, overlooking the river. The room was comfy, slightly unkept (I ALWAYS check under the bed and the long forgotten champagne cork and dust showed that no Dyson had ventured there for many months!) but not unclean and the staff were WONDERFUL. Discrete but always willing to chat....and interesting to boot!

Ted, Beata, Keating and Patrick made our stay complete (and the chap who greeted us when we arrived whose name we omitted to get...sorry!) The restaurant food in Currents (especially the fixed price menu) was good value and the wine list very interesting. However the breakfast sausage (we're members of the British Sausage Appreciation Society) was one of the worst I have ever been served! I believe it was deep fried and truly disgusting!!!!!!!!!! The Croissants were excellent and the fresh squeezed fruit juice deserves a mention.....

A negative point was that the early morning refreshment left out on each floor was only for coffee consumption and being great tea drinkers we felt short changed....Also for a new building the water movement could be heard...yup every shower/bath running in rooms near us was very audible.....irritating but I'm sure solvable.

As long as you want to feel that you are not too much of a tourist in Memphis, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Our room was upgraded to a jr. suite. I asked for a view and got it. I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was clean, luxurious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thankful-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Just got here and I love it. It as between here and the Westin on Beale. If your looking for something beautiful and less Las Vegasy this is it. I just finished my complimentary truffles and port and look forward to the gourmet breakfast (also included) tomorrow morning. The service has been excellent so far. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,136 reviews
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 136 in Memphis
337 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing