We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location on the Mississippi.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
teesside
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful location on the Mississippi.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Rooms very comfortable with stunning views over the Mississippi. The only negative comment was the miserable waitress in the restaurant (Tugs) on our first night who never smiled once and literally snatched my husbands glass away to refill it. Thankfully, though, we didn't see her again and the rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Lovely breakfasts too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    123
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
97
628
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the River Inn while visiting Memphis. It's a great location just across the bridge and then you can hop on to the buses to get around downtown sights. The trams are being renovated at the moment together with quite a lot of renovation being done in the whole downtown area, but the buses are a convenient replacement, and very cheap if you buy a day ticket from the MATA office( just over the bridge where you get the bus). Also a monorail from Mud Island but not on Mondays when we were there.
The rooms are not huge, but immaculately presented and with great attention to detail - they really have thought of everything. The bathrooms are huge and the towels are beautifully thick and fluffy, along with the complimentary robes and lovely toiletries. The chocs and port at evening is a very nice touch, as was the champagne on arrival. One bag of laundry costs 10 dollars - I managed to pack loads into one bag!! I thought it was very good value.
We ate at Paulettes restaurant one evening which was exceptional ( the rack of lamb is to die for) and at Tug's the other evening, which I can't say was particularly good.
Overall, a lovely bit of luxury in a road trip holiday, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was on 2nd floor - very quiet and coffee is available from 6am in all lobby areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keenwalker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a beautiful trip to Tennessee. We spent two days in Nashville visiting friends and then continued over to Memphis for a two-day, one night visit. Thanks to the TripAdvisor reviews, we picked a winner in the River Inn of Harbor Town! Small, quiet and quaint, it was just what we needed. We stayed in the Admiral Suite--huge and elegant! Lovely views of a park across the street right beside the mighty Mississippi. The hotel staff are impeccable: friendly, warm and professional. The extras were a bonus--free, on-street parking, wine at check-in, port and truffles with evening turn-down service, live jazz piano music in the lobby in the evening and complimentary full breakfast at the on-site restaurant, Paulette's. The River Inn is a perfect example of why we prefer to stay at the smaller boutique hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NuPwr319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for three nights whist visiting Memphis. The hotel is in a beautiful location right on the banks of the Mississippi River.Guests are very well looked after here and rooms, though smallish are quiet and have very large bathrooms which are well-stocked with lovely toiletries.
Breakfast is complimentary and Shannon and Patrick do a great job looking after guests.
Another bonus is the free parking!
You do need a car if you stay here as it is a bit of a trek across the bridge to downtown Memphis and Graceland is a few miles further.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were upgraded to a nice suite. It was in a nice area, right across the road from the Mississippi River, a short distance from Beale Street, Sun Studio, The Rock and Soul Museum, The National Cicil Rights Museum, etcetera. You need a car to get to those places - it's not within walking distance. There is a nice little grocery and deli within walking distance.

Room Tip: The walls must have been thin. We could hear other people and plumbing. We were above the laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blhickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved our stay at this beautiful property. The glass of bubbly upon arrival after a l o n g drive of Interstate 40 endless road construction was total satisfaction. The room had all the perks-- his and her robes, bath products galore, views of the River, luxurious bedding---all the trimmings. The port wine and chocolates at turn down service was just the right touch for the insomniacs that both my husband and I can be.....breakfast each morning was delicious and full of different (and yummy) options.

The only negative was the way a WHOLE table of drunk senior citizens was handled at the on sight restaurant of the hotel.... This was a very large party (10 or more) with a guaranteed gratuity I'm sure.... However, gratuity or not....when a large group of folks become profane, loud, drunk, and inconsiderate of other people in the establishment AND RUIN the special occasion (our 19th wedding anniversary dinner) for the rest of patrons in the restaurant, it is time to call a cab for them, or hotel security, or the Memphis police department, and ask them to leave the premises IMMEDIATELY! Paulette's (the restaurant on site), allowed the obnoxious bunch to remain for the duration........which sadly, seemed never ending .....

Room Tip: Make sure your room door locks.... Ours had a little "trick" that housekeeping helped us f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillianmarie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We originally booked a hotel closer to Beale Street and cancelled. We realized that when you factor in the cost of parking and breakfast, you actually get a fantastic value for top quality at The River Inn. The location is great and you can get to places such as Beale Street and museums in less than 7 minutes by car. Excellent customer service from the front desk to the restaurant. We stayed three nights and slept well each night given the comfort of the bed---Loved the chocolates and port wine served each evening. Thank you to the staff for making our stay an excellent experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maritim1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 138 in Memphis
1,943 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#2 of 138 in Memphis
386 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing