We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mississippi River in Style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Inn of Harbor Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mississippi River in Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved our stay at this beautiful property. The glass of bubbly upon arrival after a l o n g drive of Interstate 40 endless road construction was total satisfaction. The room had all the perks-- his and her robes, bath products galore, views of the River, luxurious bedding---all the trimmings. The port wine and chocolates at turn down service was just the right touch for the insomniacs that both my husband and I can be.....breakfast each morning was delicious and full of different (and yummy) options.

The only negative was the way a WHOLE table of drunk senior citizens was handled at the on sight restaurant of the hotel.... This was a very large party (10 or more) with a guaranteed gratuity I'm sure.... However, gratuity or not....when a large group of folks become profane, loud, drunk, and inconsiderate of other people in the establishment AND RUIN the special occasion (our 19th wedding anniversary dinner) for the rest of patrons in the restaurant, it is time to call a cab for them, or hotel security, or the Memphis police department, and ask them to leave the premises IMMEDIATELY! Paulette's (the restaurant on site), allowed the obnoxious bunch to remain for the duration........which sadly, seemed never ending .....

Room Tip: Make sure your room door locks.... Ours had a little "trick" that housekeeping helped us f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillianmarie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    115
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
87
586
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We originally booked a hotel closer to Beale Street and cancelled. We realized that when you factor in the cost of parking and breakfast, you actually get a fantastic value for top quality at The River Inn. The location is great and you can get to places such as Beale Street and museums in less than 7 minutes by car. Excellent customer service from the front desk to the restaurant. We stayed three nights and slept well each night given the comfort of the bed---Loved the chocolates and port wine served each evening. Thank you to the staff for making our stay an excellent experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maritim1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This stay was delightful from start to finish. not only is the hotel simply marvelous, but the location right on the river is stunning! Harbor Town wowed us - you can't believe you're in the middle of the country, but feel that you're in our home area near the Chesapeake Bay! My husband and I both felt the same emotion: you drive onto this magic little area and start to relax! Luckily the hotel is exactly the same - the check-in/concierge staff couldn't possibly be improved on, all of the other hotel staff that we encountered seemed happy to be there (Dora in housekeeping? We loved her!) we were on the 2nd floor so coffee was set up in the library alcove at 6pm, practically right outside our door (this scored huge with my husband!) It's lovely to be able to walk for a good while right along the Mississippi River, the nearby shops are very nice, the neighborhood is also great for walking and relaxing on a bench. Very good dinner at the in-house restaurant, but it was exceeded by the amazing breakfast there - you have access to the full menu, and every item is superb! I especially recommend the brioche French toast... We really enjoyed the Terrace rooftop bar for drinks and light meal. All in all: we cannot wait to come back, and hated leaving after 2 nights.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a river-front room, and really really enjoyed that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondVaJass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I loved everything about our stay here at this boutique hotel and can't really fault it.

The room and bathroom were beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfortable I almost didn't want to get up! All the staff we met were polite and helpful and the front desk staff were happy to help with providing maps and information to get about Memphis. The turndown service each evening was a nice touch which included port and chocolates.

The location on Mud Island was perfect. The surrounding area was beautiful and we spent a lovely early evening in the park across the road from the hotel one evening watching the sun setting over the Mississippi. It was easy to get to downtown Memphis, Beale St. etc by walking over the river and then catching the trolley / shuttle bus. It was then lovely to return to this peaceful location at the end of the day.

Unfortunately we didn't get to try Paulette's restaurant on this occasion (the menu looked good) but we did lunch in Tugs and also enjoyed a couple of cocktails and small plates on the terrace bar on the 4th floor which were delicious.

Our room rate included breakfast which was served in the restaurant. It was nice to have the option to order freshly prepared food from a menu as opposed to the usual breakfast buffets we had in other hotels.

I really enjoyed our stay in Memphis and this hotel and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smidge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Superb boutique hotel of exceptionally high standard almos on the banks of the Mississippi, highly recommended to anyone visiting Memphis. Excellent restaurant and terrace/bar on top floor. Would be happy to return any time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro AR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent service, beautiful rooms, and little touches that make the difference. We were getting away for a few nights, and this was the perfect spot for us. We thoroughly enjoyed walking around HarborTown, picking up local food items from Miss Cordelia's, and playing tourist in our own backyard. Meals at Paulette's were fabulous, and we really enjoyed the sunset on the Terrace. We will recommend to all our friends who are needing to getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefourkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband, two teenaged kids and I planned to stay here for two nights; however, we only ended up staying for one night. We arrived after visiting Graceland, and we were pleased that it was in a safe, upscale area. The area around Graceland did not appear to be safe at all.
When my husband checked in, he and I were both offered a glass of wine or champagne, which made a great first impression. When we walked into our room, it was freezing! The thermostat read 57 degrees! The nightstand was pulled way out and the clock was upside down on the nightstand , with it's cord piled up on top of it. A comment card from a previous guest was left on the other night stand. Considering we were paying almost $300. a night, we expected the room to look more presentable, and to be a comfortable temperature.
As mentioned, the location was beautiful, and the hotel is located along the Mississippi River in a quaint area with various upscale shops.
The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, which is included in the room rate. Our meal was fantastic, as well as the service. The waiter went above and beyond by offering to put my husband's plate of food
under a warmer while he took a business call. He was very friendly and polite. Overall, the room was not a $300 room. Breakfast and staff were both great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msgoyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Cypress Lodge
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Square, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing