We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Southern hospitality at its best"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Southern hospitality at its best"”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We recently visited Memphis and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The welcome was warm and friendly. Our room was large and light with views to the mighty Mississippi. The two Queen size beds were incredibly comfortable and we loved the little extras particularly the compilmentary chocolate and port at turn down each night.
The breakfast in Paulettes was absolutely superb, the best we have had when visiting the US, great choice and quality. We also ate in Paulettes one evening and the restaurant did not disappoint. The food was excellent, beautifully prepared and presented. All the staff and management were wonderfully welcoming and friendly providing great service ...'southern hospitality at its bes't..., nothing was too much trouble. If we return to Memphis we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    123
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
620
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We got to the hotel at 11am to be informed that our room is cancelled because a guest is refusing to leave. We were to contact Expedia to organise a new booking!
We only had one night in Memphis, and while we were touring Graceland, we spent our time on the phone trying to organise another hotel. Which proofed difficult, since all similar or better properties were booked out.
In the end, my husband told the River Inn that it was actually their responsibility to get us alternate accommodation, which they eventually organised. But we ended up staying 20km out of town in a run down hotel, where breakfast was served on styrofoam plates and cups...
The River Inn treated us very badly. It was very obvious that they had allowed other people to have our room.
I would not recommend this hotel at all!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Conny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlfriedrich1, General Manager at River Inn of Harbor Town, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We sincerely appologize for the problem with the room. Unfortunatley
one of our guest had their departure date extendet and this created the overbooking. The mistake was made by one of our front desk associate who did not check if we had the room available for the given date. This mistake resulted in having to relocate the incoming guest to an other hotel. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience this caused.
Please let me know when you will be back in Memphis and it will be our pleasure to have you staying with us as our guest. please contact me at karlf@riverinnmemphis.com.
thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We just loved staying at the River Inn, from the wonderful welcome and complimentary drink we received as we walked through the door right through to the turndown service and complimentary port every night ... which was a wonderful surprise. The best asset of this hotel are the staff who are exceptional. The room we booked had an outstanding view of the river and we were impressed with the various restaurants available. Again, the staff were amazing - thanks to Shannon who waited on us over a couple of nights - she was brilliant and made us feel so much at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Loved everything about this wonderful little boutique hotel, especially the beds and pillows. The complimentary champagne and wine as we checked in was a nice - and welcoming - touch as well. The staff was very friendly and professional and the rooms were on the large size and spotlessly clean. We had a lovely view of the river, too. My only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer - but we would definitely good back if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstontravelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a great place to stay while in Memphis. I booked a bit late for our trip to Memphis and was initially concerned about not being 'in the heart of Memphis', but this IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!!!

The staff start your great experience at registration where they do greet you with a glass of wine, a smile and true desire to make your stay wonderful. The room provided had a fantastic view of the river, an absolutly wonderful bed and luxury bath. Turndown service was a pleasant addition each evening which included a nice port and truffles on the bedside table. Location is very nice and only a short taxi to where the action is in Memphis, plus we had great discussions with the taxi drivers. Breakfast is included and should not be missed. The Euro deli plate is enough for 2 and other offerings were great as well.

In my travels and in my business I know what it takes to hold a #1 rank and River Inn of Harbor Town does too. We will be back!

Room Tip: Corner room with river views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandTara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed with 5 friends at the River Inn for 3 nights. We had a suite and a handicapped room. The suite was wonderful with lovely views of the Mississippi. The handicapped room was nice, but not really handicapped accessible - the bed was too high for a wheelchair bound person to get into, the toilet was difficult to get on to from a wheelchair, and the shower controls for the hand held nozzle were located at the top of the shower head - which was not accessible to our guest in a wheelchair. The breakfast at the restaurant was great, but service was very slow. The Terrace Bar was beautiful and had great small plates - the view was spectacular, especially at sunset. We liked the location of the hotel, but it is not near downtown. The staff at the hotel was especially gracious and willing to do whatever was necessary to help out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the River Inn and loved it! From the complimentary champagne & wine at check-in to the port & chocolates left in the room at turn-down - this hotel definitely tries to ensure you have a comfortable, pampered stay! Our room overlooked the river and had everything we needed. We ate dinner downtown and had no trouble getting a cab there and back. Breakfast at Paulette's was wonderful! We strongly recommend the River Inn if you are looking for a place to get away!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSunSun06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#7 of 136 in Memphis
1,905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 136 in Memphis
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing