We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved, loved, loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is rated number one in Memphis for a reason! We choose this property based on the many amazing reviews it had received. The River Inn at Harbor Town is perfect blend of full service hotel and bed and breakfast. The location is a perfect departure from the hustle of Beale Street which is a eight minute drive away at most. It is situated across the street from the Mississippi River and the sunset views of it from the hotel are fantastic. The hotel's setting within a community was a nice plus. Our room was spotless and so well appointed. We too, were greeted with champagne and as others have reported, port wine and chocolates are delivered each evening. The included breakfast was also a great option and Patrick who worked at Paulette's put the hospitality into Southern hospitality!! It was a great way to start our day. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our next trip to Memphis. Keep up the great work!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms of the river are worth the upgrade!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMcNellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for River Inn of Harbor Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 944 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

I had the opportunity to spend the past weekend at the Rive Inn of Harbor Town in Memphis. It was absolutely enchanting. The service was great from check in (with Katherine) to the waiters in Paulettes...(Jamie and Patrick) to our turn down service. ( don't know the names)..Great food great service wonderful rooms with comfy sheets and turn down service. I will be going back in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same type beds and bedding..Any will do you good. We got a room with a king b...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilsis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I LOVED this boutique hotel. Lovely Southern charm and attentive, hospitable staff. Katherine greeted us upon checkin with a glass of champagne as we listened to the tunes coming from the baby grand in the exquistily decorated lobby/sitting room. A beautifully decorated lobby with fresh roses everywhere! It was a rather magical checkin! We were surpringsly upgraded to amazing rooms and when we opened the door we were like kids in a candy store. Elegant yet comfortable rooms with amazing beds (like sleeping on a cloud), large fluffy towels, all the amenities you'd ever want, and in the evening turn down service we would receive truffles and port, which we enjoyed by our fireplace. Again, magical! Dinning @ Paulettes was amazing. Outstanding food and service. Kelly and Patrick were top notch and took care of our every whim. I LOVE this hotel and will be back. Katherine, Kelly and Patrick made a great impression with their caring customer service and the inn itself offered Southern charming elegance, which I adore. What are you waiting for? Book a room already! You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: If you want charming Southern elegance, this is it. You feel special from the moment you walk in th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberleyKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A very comfortable convenient hotel with friendly staff. Small and quiet with a terrific breakfast included. Just a short hop to Beale Street with all of it's culture. The staff gave us lots of great advice on things to do during our short stay in Memphis.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice but not what we generally choose. I think they were...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Beautiful room with view of Mississipi, fluffy towels & robes, champagne on arrival, port and chocolates at bedtime - what's not to love! Plus amazing breakfast served beautifully with freshly squeezed juices, etc, etc. Only slight gripes were no tea/coffee making facilities & coffee only available in library corner in morning, not evenings, and the waiter at the Rooftop bar above our room moving furniture around for ages very late at night, till I went and complained to him that we had asked for a quiet room. He did stop as soon as I asked and didn't do it on our second night. Meal at Tug's fine but wished we had splashed out & eaten at Paulette's. Staff were always very nice and chambermaid even wrote a thank you for her tip!
Overall this was a great hotel and we would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezza26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I always search for boutique style hotels and this was one of my favorite places to stay. Our room had a view of the river and the sunset was spectacular. I loved the library corner outside our room. The chocolate and port were appreciated in the evening. The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryfiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I see bad reviews and always think, "really, was it that bad?" but now I know it was that bad!
I wrote a previous review about the River Inn giving it an average rating due to the fire alarm fiasco but I am downgrading the rating to poor because they charged my credit card for my room and my friends room.

I initially reserved the two rooms with my visa but when we checked in my friend, Mrs. J, gave them her credit card and they swiped it and changed the reservation to be under her name. I gave them my American Express to pay for my room. After returning home and looking at my bank statement for my Visa and my American Express account, I realized they charged my AE for my room and my Visa for her room!!! I called and spoke with some young man at the front desk and he confirmed this was the case and told me I would need to Mrs. J and have her contact the hotel to pay for her room and then they would refund my money. I was so angry with the way the fire alarm deal was mishandled and now this, that I wish that I had said, "No, you will need to call Mrs. J and get her cc info and refund my money now". But I didn't! I just said never mind, I would have Mrs. J write me a check for her room because I was done dealing with them!!

And to beat all, this whole conversation took place with out a single apology for their mistake and for my inconvenience!! What ever happened to the "the customer is always right" mentality! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!! Poorest customer service I have ever experienced at a hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlfriedrich1, General Manager at River Inn of Harbor Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

We are very sorry for the credit card confusion. We do not keep any credit cards on file after a guest has checked out, this is for security reasons. When checking out from hotel both guest were given a receipt to sign, which eas done with out any questions and the receptionist thought that all was correct.
again please accept our appologies for the slip up, the young man should have told you that he was going to contact your friend to have the credit card re-issued in order to credit you and debit her card.
Again we are very sorry for the disapointing service you received.
should you return to Memphis in the near future pleaser contact me and I will be delighted to make up to you with a special rate for the inconveniences you had.

sincerely,

Karl W. Friedrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 138 in Memphis
1,980 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
392 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $264 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing