We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European charm with Southern hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“European charm with Southern hospitality!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this charming small boutique hotel! From the welcome wine or champagne to the turn down service port and chocolates-no detail is overlooked. The location is so picture-perfect quaint, with a beautiful view of the river. Everyone on staff was exceptional from our darling waitress at the Terrace to the accommodating head of housekeeping who took us on a small tour of the other room options the Inn offers.
We stumbled on Dining Downtown week in Memphis which spoiled us from ever leaving the hotel from dinner. We ended up dining at Paulettes both nights and were not disappointed. Delicious!
Breakfast was also delightful and the fact that a "menu-ordered" breakfast was included just added to the whole great experience.
If there was any small criticism -it was that our room was indeed very small. But decorated nicely and we had a nice view so that made up for the fact that we had to navigate around the armoire "single-file"!
We don't have any immediate plans to return to Memphis but we had such a great time at the Harbor Inn we may go just to stay there again!

Room Tip: The Housekeeper mentioned that the rooms on the side by Tugs restaurant tended to be a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    123
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
621
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nether Heyford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just a big thank you to the staff at the River Inn and Paulette's restaurant. Fantastic location, with great rooms and exceptional food at Paulette's. We travelled over from England and were not disappointed. We would recommend the hotel to everyone coming over from the UK.
Special thanks to Alex and Patrick for their hospitality.

Best regards

Keith & Carol

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very comfortable hotel, helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts, cozy lobby with great pianist, brewed coffee available on the floor in the morning. Not a cookie cutter hotel - this place has charm. Reasonable distance to the sites we were going to see (Graceland, Sun Studio, Peabody Hotel). Turn down service with port and truffles, free parking

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The entire property is exquisitely and tastefully decorated. It feels special but it also feels warm and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. And the location isn't inconvenient to downtown memphis, just a nice walk to the trolley station. Breakfast at Pauline's was scrumptious and the service true southern hospitality. Only the dinner at Pauline's was nice, but not special. But there are so many other options in Memphis anyway. Can't wait to return!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the River Inn, Welcome drink on arrival, a fantastic touch. All staff were very friendly and helpful. A nice surprise was an upgrade to a suite with a river view. The whole stay was faultless.
We ate at Paulettes both for breakfast and dinner, nothing too much trouble, but didn't understand the Strawberry butter with dinner. Also ate and had a drink in the Terrace Bar, again good food and attentive staff. The chocolate and port in the evening with a turn down service were a classy touch.
Only a 10 min walk over the bridge to get the trolley downtown for $1 each way. An easy 20 min drive to Graceland.
This was our first trip to Memphis and would not hesitate toasty here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This property on "Mud Island" gave us a comfortable stay in Memphis. Rooms were well appointed, bedding very nice and the reception staff were excellent. The welcome cocktail at reception and the chocolates and port in the room in the evening were nice touches.

The restaurant staff weren't quite as polished as the others, and our waiter one evening was in over his head (no matter what he was asked from table to table the answer was always "that's an excellent choice, it's my favorite" and he kept coming by during the meal saying "isn't this excellent, or isn't it the best ever?"), so they could use a little training, but they were friendly enough to compensate for that.

The pianist in the reception lounge was quite talented and added to the atmosphere over dinner.

Overall it was a very nice stay. If we ever go back to memphis, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: take in the views of the mississippi by taking a walk around the Island while you are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the River Inn over a long weekend while visiting our daughter at Ole Miss. Check in was a breeze and our room was comfortable. I loved the wine at check-in, our view of the river and the port and chocolates at turn down. Also, the 2nd floor reading area with an abundance of books and fresh coffee was very nice and unexpected. One of best things were the wonderful breakfasts. Parking is free and within a short walk you can find a coffee house and charming little market and deli. We took walks along the river each morning. What a refreshing feeling not to be nickel and dimed for any little thing. We will never stay anywhere else in Memphis!

Room Tip: Ask for 206! The room is a bit bigger and has lots of windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvt2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#3 of 136 in Memphis
3,195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
1,906 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#4 of 136 in Memphis
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing