We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mississippi wanderer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Outstanding hotel. Old school service, thoughtful, sincere, and genuine attention paid to guests. Terrific staff, either through training or personality they know how to flatter, be attentive, and guide without gushing, pushing, or fussing. Great location, smack down in the middle of a yuppie paradise, without the smugness I would have guessed in evidence. My suite was just wonderful, well appointed and detailed. But do you know what I really liked, I mean really liked? The staff gave every appearance of enjoying their jobs and each other. Find that anywhere else!

Room Tip: My suite, the "Mary Houston" was all I needed, spend the extra for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vintage_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 953 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived from the UK at around 2 am at this hotel and were greeted by a gentleman who rushed outside to help us with our bags, and had two glasses of champagne waiting. We declined the champagne as we were so tired, and he arranged tea for us. This is a very lovely personal service from a small hotel. The entrance is quite small, with a few lounge chairs and a piano. We were checked in within minutes and taken to a beautiful bedroom with antique furniture including a four poster bed, and a stunning bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

Breakfast was a la carte and we were served by the most friendly chap who soon told us tales of elvis and by the second day was making teddy bear shaped American pancakes for our seven year old son. He remembered our names and was very genuine about any questions we had. Southern style hospitality at its best.

Room service was great, the restaurant fantastic, the staff helpful in everyday. We don't usually stay at small hotels as we like the guarantee of quality in known brands, but we loved loved loved this place and would recommend it to anyone. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samster2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a planned community away from the central business district, and exudes the true feel of Southern Hospitality. The rooms are comfortable and its proximity to the Mississippi River is a plus. The blueberry pancakes are not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolina915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last October, 4 days/5 nights, on several verbal recommendations. It feels more like a B&B with a high level of quality. The service was very polite and expedient, front desk to room service, throughout our stay. The furnishings, linens, amenities, and such were as shown, listed, and expected. Our room requests were met (river view, feather-free, extra bathroom supplies, etc.). We slept better here than most places we've stayed in the last several years (we typically expect not to sleep well away from home). We were glad it was not only beside the river, but not in the middle of town. It makes a great base if you want to visit Memphis but have somewhere very nice and pretty quiet just a little outside of everything to relax afterwards. The accompanying restaurant, Paulette's, was very good and is recommended for at least one night while you're there. We plan to stay here again when we return to Memphis.

Room Tip: You should ask if a room with a river view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhinanLaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The River Inn was spectacular. The staff greeted us warmly and was very helpful with recommending various tourists attractions in the area. We loved the location and were able to take nightly strolls along the Mississippi River and watch the sun set. There was a pianist playing in the lobby every evening along with champagne (we don't drink, but we enjoyed the music). The room was meticulously clean. Paulette's restaurant had a wonderful breakfast. Supper was not very tasty and over priced. The wait staff were outstanding, professional, and friendly! We enjoyed talking with Patrick W.every morning. I will definitely return to the River Inn on my next visit to Memphis!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 512happytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I say this advisedly, the location of this hotel on Mud Island being separated from downtown Memphis by the Wolf River. Downtown Memphis is most definitely not memorable or pretty ! Many strange characters, seedy bits, etc. Strangely, you go over the bridge to Mud Island, a fairly scale community, and you enter a different world. The River Inn is very high spec, rooms were superbly furnished, and has 2 very nice restaurants on site, one formal and one more relaxed. For the price there is nowhere else to stay in Memphis - it puts the Peabody in the shade. Lovely walks along the Mississippi and, if you can stand the heat, you can stroll down to Riverwalk where there's an intriguing white elephant model of the entire Mississippi River complete with water flows and quite interesting graphic descriptions. Only problem is there was no-one there......despite what must have been a huge construction bill.
Would definitely stay again but unlikely to return to Memphis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank merv1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

When visiting the raucous downtown area of Memphis, I recommend this quiet retreat. Set just outside of downtown, the comfortable bed, welcoming staff and good restaurant make this a nice way to start or end your day. Easy access to all Memphis activities a stroll along the Mississippi will complete the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 138 in Memphis
2,019 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $266 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing