We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis
Ranked #58 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything is easily accessible from this location. Clean room, reasonable rates.Microwave and refrigerator in room. The usual continental breakfast. Nice staff. PET FRIENDLY!! We will definitely be staying there again.No real restaurants nearby. We struggled to find someone who would deliver pizza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
14
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here because it was dog friendly and we had big dogs traveling with us.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and reasonable. We stayed in 3 Best Western hotels on our trip, and this one had the smallest room and was most expensive.

It was in an industrial area, kind of removed from the attractions of Memphis.

The best things about this hotel were the friendly staff and the fact that our big dogs could stay there!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland,KY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Was located in an industrial area but was very quiet. Room was very nice and value was great! It was very easy to go to Graceland and Beale St. Staff was very helpful with directions and gave us the location of a great little barbeque restaurant. Would stay there again! They are in the process of adding a resturant on site.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here 5/2012. Wasn't expecting much for the price ($55) but it was pretty run down. Pretty outdated, first time I've ever been to a hotel that uses a pen and paper reservation and check in system. The staff was friendly enough.

The room was pretty musty, the AC had a god awful smell coming from it. The towels in the bathroom had blood and makeup stains on them, making me think that they don't change towels that are left on the racks. 2 of the lamps in my room were also broken and there was only one working power outlet. Pretty lacking on amenities too. But, you get what you pay for. My advice (if location isn't a concern) is to bid the same rate on priceline for a much better place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunbsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel is a good choice close to a number of fast food restaurants, and freeway I stayed for 5 nights without problems. The hotel is quite on the north side. Comes with microwave, coffeepot & small refrigerator. Breakfast is standard nothing special. I found the beds to be OK, a little hard. The property is old but well maintained. The staff (seems to be the owner he was there at all hours) he was nice very polite & helpful, & friendly. The breakfast area spacious. Breakfast is standard nothing special. The outside pool was closed so I didn't get to use it. The area seems safe it is a trucking area with numerous depots. Good Location,can be a good value If you are playing tourist it is about 16 miles from downtown and Beale St, and about 9 miles to Graceland.

Room Tip: get room on Opposite sideof the bldg from the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was just what we needed. Good price and good location for our meeting in Olive Branch.

Everything was clean and in good working order.

As others have commented, my only complaint is that the hotel is located directly on a main thoroughfare into Memphis (Lamar Ave) and it is *NOISY* even at 2am.

Room Tip: It is noisy so I suppose it would be best to request a room to the rear of the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota / Isle of Man
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Not the easiest motel to find. My Garmin satnav couldn't locate 5024 Highway 78 (it is at least a couple of miles further out of town than the 4400 block). A local police officer could not figure out where it was either. But I was pleasantly surprised when eventually I did find it. The building is quite handsome, and the landscaping is invitingly immaculate.
A very steep $35 surcharge was levied to allow my 90+ pound dog to share my room. But the dog enjoyed exercising on the pleasant lawn.
The interior of my room was average for an older motel, but everything was clean and everything worked.
Highway 78 is heavily used as a truck route. In fact, a couple of tractors pulled in to spend the night shortly after my arrival. The problem is, many trucks keep on rolling by through the night; and the motel is close enough to the road that you get a hefty background of rumbling and grunting for your lullaby.
That noise level was, however, my only complaint about this Best Western Inn. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: As far away from Highway 78 as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ManxJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
10.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East
10.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Memphis Northeast
10.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
#63 of 136 in Memphis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Memphis - Wolfchase Galleria
12.9 mi away
Sleep Inn - Memphis / Bartlett
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis

Property: Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis
Address: 5024 Highway 78 (5024 Lamar Ave.), Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelers Inn and Suites is less than 10 minutes from the Memphis International Airport, Graceland, and the University of Memphis. Downtown Memphis, Beale Street, B.B. King’s Bluesville are a short 15 miles. J.B. Hunt Trucking Company and Burlington Northern, Santa Fe Railroad are less than 1 mile, making the Travelers Inn the ideal lodging choice.This pet friendly hotel’s amenities include a free breakfast, free high speed wireless internet, and an outdoor pool. Additional features are free parking, guest laundry facilities and a business center. Parking is available for over sized vehicles and trucks.Each well-appointed guest room features free high speed wireless internet, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, alarm clock radio, free local calls, air conditioning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Memphis
Memphis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing