We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, cozy cottage with a simply lovely host!”
other travelers have booked this property
Very private side view of cottage which you can step out your side door and sit next to pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Very private side view of cottage which you can step out your side door and sit next to pool.
Beautiful and classy antique furnished and cozy large den/ library. Picture of wonderful and cozy den/library filled with wonderful books & trinkets for your enjoyment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Very private side view of cottage which you can step out your side door and sit next to pool.
Beautiful and classy antique furnished and cozy large den/ library.
Picture of wonderful and cozy den/library filled with wonderful books & trinkets for your enjoyment
Another picture of quaint carriage house.
Breakfast table and nook to enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast.
Fountain which flows into pool along with stepping stones to cross over to other side of pool/patio.
Another picture of the beautiful lap legth pool and fountain.
Front view of carriage house with private and secured parking right outside your front door.
Beautiful pool located outside your door.
large desk in den area for business/ computer use
aerial view of spacious den and library in main room
comfortable and cozy den
view of small library in den area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Memphis, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, cozy cottage with a simply lovely host!”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at Cheryl's midtown carriage house. It was an incredibly restful, relaxing haven to come home to after walking all day in the Memphis sun! Loads of really thoughtful touches, like the fridge full of cold drinks and the big basket of snacks waiting for me when I arrived, the info sheets on local attractions and restaurants (and the neatly organized collection of takeout menus!), and the fresh flowers on the table were just so appreciated. Cheryl was just the sweetest person, so friendly and helpful. Beautiful neighborhood, with huge old houses surrounded by gigantic trees and gorgeous gardens. Very convenient location in midtown Memphis. It was the perfect retreat!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate S
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastuc pet friendly location!”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I hate staying in hotels and this was a fabulous alternative. Cheryl was quick to get back to me when I had questions prior to the stay and she was there to greet us when we checked in. The neighborhood was gorgeous! My kids loved being able to swim and it was great to have our dog be able to stay with us. The carriage house had everything we needed and was within minutes of downtown Mempbis. I hadn't stayed in this area previously, but I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stacey L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect bff birthday weekend!”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Cheryl was a fantastic host and we cannot say thank you enough for making our stay a memorable one! The personal touches from the great snacks, to the thoughtful provisions to make us more comfortable were above and beyond. The carriage house and private patio and pool were enchanting. We ended every day out there relaxing and laughing. It was our best trip, and we will definitely be back! Thank you Cheryl!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: nothing really
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmd323
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful historic home in Midtown Memphis”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in the Carriage House! The decor makes it feel like a home away from home. Cheryl includes lots of "extras" like fresh flowers, snacks, beverages, and fruit. She also includes a lot of brochures and maps of the area for those interested. The parking is gated, and the location is right in the middle of Memphis; so, it is quick to get wherever you want to go. The home was built in the 20's; so, it is in a beautiful historic neighborhood, which adds to its charm. We would definitely recommend staying here over a hotel!

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful find.”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights and would loved to have stayed longer. Cheryl, the owner, was sweet and had many special touches that made us feel welcome including coffee, tea, organic juice, muffins, fruit and snacks. The house and grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed walking around the neighborhood looking at all the mansions. Also included was convenient off street parking.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdanae3
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
5
people found this review helpful

This poolhouse is located behind a beautiful antebellum home in a neighborhood full of the same. Gorgeous grounds with a roomy cottage poolhouse with a large living room, bedroom and full bath. Side door off bedroom opens out to the beautiful inground pool. Leave the door open and listen to the fountain thats part of the pool. So relaxing! Much larger than any hotel! Close to dowtown, Central BBQ and lots more! Perfect place! Ive stayed twice already!

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing