We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise after driving forever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Ranked #13 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice surprise after driving forever”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I rolled into Memphis at like 3am one night having driven all the way from Dallas, TX! We booked our reservation in advance, called around midnight to say we were still on our way - staff was very nice and gave us a free late checkout. When we showed up the doors were locked (there was a guard on staff which was nice but may have said something about the area). Once we got inside, everything was fine - the guard and clerk were both friendly and chatty. We went up to our room on the 4th floor which was right near the elevator (a bit noisy in the morning but we were so tired we didn't care). The bed was VERY comfortable - one of the main reasons I stay at Hyatt Place anywhere - and the living area and bathroom were both great. We loved it here, and although I don't think we'll ever be back to Memphis, it was a great stay!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmxx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    216
    72
    42
    14
See reviews for
272
165
41
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from a two-day stay at the Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway (henceforth referred to in this review as 'HPM'). This was a trip with my wife and our two daughters for a wedding in Memphis. First, we were in bit of hot water for not staying at the neighboring La Quinta like everyone else in our group. With no disrespect to the La Quinta (I didn't set foot in it), the angst we had to bear was well worth it. As I always do in my reviews on tripadvisor, here is a look at the Great, Good, Bad, and Ugly with some Bottom Line comments. Ready? Here goes . . .

GREAT

* Uniqueness: In an earlier review, one reviewer mentioned 'unimaginative and poor room design'. I was shocked to read that. Most business class hotel reviews I write here have to be written quickly, or I start forgetting about the hotel. NOT the case with the HPM. I appreciate a hotel that breaks the standard cookie-cutter hotel room design and HPM did that. The lay-out made excellent use of the space. There were four of us and we were more than comfortable - my wife and I slept on the King and our daughters on the sofa pull-out. And, while my wife and I obviously aren't going to have too much 'fun' with our daughters there, the room did have a kind of partially divided feel with a divider that juts some three feet from the wall separating the bed from sofa. The same can be said for the hotel reception area. the HPM is not very large but they make good use of common area space with an effective, funky design.

* Value / Breakfast: for a room rate of $99 / night I thought I did VERY well. Add to this the incredibly generous breakfast that is FREE with your stay and the value is excellent. Breakfast is far beyond the coffee, juice, and pastry norm where you're doing very well to get a waffle iron. NOT the case here where they had a big selection of hot and cold items, including hot McDonalds egg mcmuffin-type sandwiches. Very generous and appreciated.

GOOD

* Location: While I had never been to Memphis before and regret not taking the opportunity to look around a bit, this seems like a great location to stay in with many conveniences to be had nearby - and this was appreciated by me as I had a dress code violation at the wedding and had to run out and buy all new clothes quickly (I was so happy to learn the DAY OF the wedding I was to be an usher and adhere to a particular color theme that my super fly black suit wasn't meeting!).

* 'Versatility': the HPM strikes the fine line of being an equally good choice for a business or personal stay.

* Technology: I appreciated the free wifi and the excellent panel of media plug-in options for the big pretty flat screen in our room.

Bad (room for improvement)

* Noise: We had a nice room but it was on the first floor just NEXT to the pool entrance / exit (room # 126). This was nice as I was able to step outside and sun a bit but . . . there was a lot of noise from that door just outside of our room - and this was in mid-October. In, say, July it could have been a bit much. Also, there was a hotel service room just across the hall too and, again, it got a bit noisy at times. This seems pretty isolated to this one partiuclar area though.

BOTTOM LINE

* The HPM is a simple, manageable hotel that is more memorable than similar properties and is an equally good choice for personal time or business traveling.

* Because parked cars may be mere feet from your window, coupled with all of the other lobby happenings, I do recommend avoiding a stay on the first floor if you can.

* Come with accurately-calibrated expectations and you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: You won't go wrong here at all but . . . next time I will try to avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShoelessJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Big room. A Suite actually. Clean, new, very comfortable. Hotel is in nice area, next to a hospital. Plenty of restaurants in area and close to expressway. Reasonably prices. Good Breakfast with a breakfast croissant, pancakes, fruit, may juices etc. Friendly and professional staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepawlaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The standard room I received was very spacious and comfortable. The bed was super-comfortable and the complimentary, hot breakfast buffet was healthy and delicious. Only negatives is that it is about a $30-40 cab ride from downtown. Also, I had problems with getting my AC lower than 70 degrees. Still, it was a very relaxing and great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Place Primacy Parkway for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable. We found the staff to be friendly and check-in was a breeze. The breakfast bar was much better than most free breakfast bars at other hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable. The only negative is that the hotel is a little hard to find, but if you look for St. Francis Hospital it is just across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StepBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The carpet in our room was very dirty. Also, a group of people, obviously some kind of cheering section for a college football game, invaded our floor and partied all night. People were roaming the hall until 4 a.m., knocking on doors, slamming doors, and being a nuisance to anyone interested in SLEEPING. We did hear a staff member try to quiet them down but to no avail. It didn't help that the walls were paper thin. Overall, we found the staff members unhelpful and not very professional. Believe it or not, we would stay here again because despite these negative experiences, this is still he best his we've found in this area of Memphis, which doesn't say a lot for Memphis hotels overall.

Room Tip: Reserve early. Best rooms go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Online reservations made and confirmed by email. Request made for two beds and ground floor with as little walking as possible explaining that I would be arriving with my wife who would be recovering from surgery. (she would have a difficult time walking.)
Arrived to find out that we were on the 4th floor with one bed. I was not happy but polite about it and was given $50 off of one night with arrangements to change rooms the next day. Staff not at all remorseful or apologetic.
Stay was un eventful but there just aren't any warm fuzzy feelings here. Staff is friendly enough but much more interested in each other, haven't been trained in the little things like waiting for guests to exit the elevator before entering, combing their hair, dropping their attention from each other when a guest approaches the desk etc. Just observations from an experienced traveler who doesn't expect too much or get upset over such things. Will go with a Marriott or Hilton property next time unless Hyatt makes it up to me somehow. The building and rooms are nice here but there is a very nice looking La Quinta property is next door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidocark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
11.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
11.8 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway

Property: Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Address: 1220 Primacy Pkwy, Memphis, TN 38119-0201
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Memphis
#13 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway Hotel Memphis
Hyatt Memphis Primacy Parkway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing