We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Memphis and beyond”

Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe
Ranked #31 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best food in Memphis and beyond”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Our family has ate here twice and will definitely return when in the Memphis area. The food is fantastic. The service is friendly and fast. The best fried chicken and waffles we have found. Don't miss this great restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosebowl94991112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    171
    64
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Great food, friendly service kept our drinks filled without being asked very friendly waiter service great food and atmosphere was relaxing

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajbailey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real chicken Fried Steak”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My first reaction to Miss Polly's on Beale Street was Chicken grease. Reminded me of my high school cafeteria when they could actually fry things. I had the Chicken Fried Steak with white gravy. The amount of breading was just perfect. I also had mac and cheese and purple hull peas. They were just like Mom used to make. Next time I go I am going to TRY to save room for the fried pie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
209 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Still A Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This trip was a bit different than last time. I ordered chicken and waffles, which started out amazing,until I found blood in the middle. Was pretty done with the meal at that point. Did I complain? No, I am trying to convince myself it was Tobasco sauce. G's breakfast was awesome. They do serve a perfect cup of coffee, too. Will I go back? Sure. The atmosphere is worth one bad meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ooky57
Level Contributor
185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Looks awful, amazing fried pickles!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A true Beale street dingy haven for heart attack inducing but delicious fried food and sweet tea. don't expect fancy treatment but who cares?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing