We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin Memphis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Memphis Beale Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Ranked #23 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Westin Memphis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Westin was a very nice hotel. Very clean and close to all the action on Beale Street. Staff was very nice. Only problem was the parking was expensive. The Westin is right on Beale st right across from Gibson Guitar and the Fed-Ex forum.... Didn't have the noise problems other reviews seem to have.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BealeStreetHotelier, Digital Media Coordinator at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Derrick,

Thanks for leaving a review! Feedback from our guests, both good and bad, is the most valuable advice we can receive. It allows us to recognize our areas of weakness and make appropriate adjustments to our services and processes.

Thank you for choosing The Westin, we look forward to your next stay.

Nicole
Digital Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    319
    137
    80
    88
See reviews for
175
427
45
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've heard so many great things about the Westin.....However, my hubby got us a room for the weekend in our native city for my birthday, I was not really impressed. The room was just average, nothing over the top, we arrived at 6pm'ish and our room wasn't ready and valet parking was $24 per day. The location is great! Central to Beale Street, FedEx Forum, Gibson Guitar Factory, and local restaurants, etc. I wasn't disappointed in the place, but I must admit I was expecting more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKimMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very disappointed with the hotel in general. Stayed on the third floor for a conference. The hallway smelled like sewage or urine. Carpet was stained throughout the hallway. Found our door to be cracked open upon arrival. Later learned that the door didn't close all the way. Carpet stains throughout the room and furniture was worn. Very uncomfortable desk chair - would not rise up to the proper height. One of the elevators was broken for our entire stay of 5 days. There was no way to take the stairs to the lobby area. The stairways (as we were told by other elevator riders) goes to an alley outside the hotel. No extra bathroom tissue in the room.

We asked for a room with a view. Was told we would be facing the Gibsun Museum. However, our room was facing the back side of Beale St. with a view of air conditioners on the hotel rooftop. Not a big deal but just wasn't what we were told.

Just not what you would expect for a Westin. However, the location was ideal being a block away from Beale St.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Westin location couldn't have been better for us. Beale is at the back of the hotel and the Gibson guitar factory is right across the street. Other reviewers have complained of the noise level, but we had no issues because our room was facing the Gibson factory. Valet service was good but at $24/day, we switched to self-park with in/out privileges for $18/day since the car park adjoins the hotel. We were warmly greeted upon check-in and we were happy with our room. There was work being done on some floors, we did not have any noise but there was a faint smell of wallpaper. The hotel has a selection of Gibson guitars for guests in-room use upon signing a waiver. This is a nice touch that distinguishes the Westin from other hotels. The only real issue was that husband had to go back to the front desk twice to get the right equipment to use the guitars. I would recommend the hotel. As to things to do in Memphis, we recommend the Gibson factory tour. Make sure you make a reservations because tours fill up quickly. Also, try to go when the workers are on the floor, it's very interesting to see the entire guitar making process. Sun Studios is a must as well as the National Civil Rights Museum. The Lorraine Hotel is closed for repairs; however, during construction, visitors are allowed to stand on the balcony in the exact spot where Dr. King was assassinated. Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinaMePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from this hotel. Everything was lovely even though there were minor repairs going on in the hall when we arrived and faint smell of paint, it did not bother us. The room was in good condition and service was slightly above average, however the late night noise coming from Beale Street was too much for us. Saturday Night at midnight live music sounded like it was almost in our room. I assume if you are on the opposite side of the hotel facing the Gibson Factory it would be a totally different experience. A full 50% of the rooms face the back of the Beale Street block. We were on the 6th floor and it was very noisy late into the night. We did not go to experience Beale Street and the noise was present even in the early evening when we arrived around 4:30 pm and wanted to take a nap.

My heavenly bed was slightly worn out and we did not receive the use of robes in our room at all even though there was a note that if we wanted to purchase one we could do so in the lobby.

All in all I would not stay there on our next visit to Memphis. I will try to procure a room away from Beale Street. The downtown is walkable so if you are headed to Beale you can do so without having it in your hotel room when you get back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Gibson Guitar Factory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAnnaNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location for Beale st. Very good service and room. Highly recommended! Thin walls so if you have loud neighbors, beware. Also hotel backs to Beale st where music can play late. We were on top floor and still heard it clearly. Early sleepers would not like that side of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudyfs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Perfect location. Close to all you want to see in Memphis. Next door to the Gibson guitar factory. The next street over is Beale street. BB Kings restaurant is a must. Minutes drive to Graceland. Minutes walk to Sun Records and Rock and Soul Museum. We would stay there again. The FREE use of a Gibson guitar for the night is amazing! I tried 3 different expensive guitars in 2 days! Ask about the discount parking pass for the adjoined parking deck. It's well worth it. My only caution: don't touch the mini bar in the room unless you plan on eating something. We found out the hard way that everything is monitored electronically and if its moved for more than 30 seconds, you're charged for it. Luckily the front desk removed these charges upon checking out.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Junfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BealeStreetHotelier, Digital Media Coordinator at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Junfan1,

Thanks for leaving such a great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for choosing Westin Memphis, we look forward to your next stay.

Nicole
Digital Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Memphis Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Memphis Beale Street

Property: The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Address: 170 Lt. George Washington Lee Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#18 Family Hotel in Memphis
#22 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Memphis Beale Street 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Memphis hotel is located just behind the world-famous Beale Street, home of the blues, and minutes away from the excitement of the city. We offer guests over 200 hotel rooms and 9 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Westin Memphis Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Memphis Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Westin Memphis Beale Street
Memphis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing