We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free Gibson Guitar "Rental"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Memphis Beale Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Ranked #23 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Free Gibson Guitar "Rental"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

After spending a few days in Nashville, my husband and I spent one night at the Westin and were glad we chose that particular hotel, which is in the heart of the lively Beale St. area. It's also right across from the Gibson guitar factory, and the Westin allows guests to take Gibson guitars to their rooms and use them during their stay. My husband got a bright blue one (and no, I can't tell you the model) but he could have tried several had he wanted to.
I love the Westin chain for service and amenities and this one did not disappoint. The room was spacious, the bathroom had both a glass shower stall and a tub, service was great, and we experienced no problems. My one criticism of Westin is it still charges for Internet acess when most hotels have abandoned that practice. It's really offensive to have to pay for Wi-Fi when you aleady are paying top dollar for a hotel. But this is a problem I have with Westin in general and not with the Memphis facility.
If you are going to Memphis on business or for fun (we visited Graceland, which is about 20 minutes away--max), it's probably your best choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kareno425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    319
    137
    80
    88
See reviews for
175
427
45
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a business trip to Memphis on St Patrick's Day weekend. Beale St was hopping, Elton John at the FexEx, and me tired.
this hotel was fantastic.
good service at checkin, quick secure trip to room with roomkey in elevator. nearby restaurants crazy full with Paddy day "celebrants" and so back to hotel. reasonable price and quick room service.
a very good place for the traveler. excellent service, luxury room. good location if you want to see Beale st or Griz, Gibson Guitar museum and museum of soul.
did not have any problems with hotel or service. hasn't happened to me lately!

Room Tip: 7th floor was nice with loud Beale st/st paddy's day crowd expect most days would be fine anywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

While the location is great, the room left a lot to be desired. The bottom sheet barely covered the mattress, the duvet did not have a cover, no extra towels provided, a charge for wifi, $20 breakfast per person. Over all, quite a disappointment for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cisprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Westin is close to everything. Walking distance to the Civil rights museum. Around the corner from Beale St. Across the street from Gibson Gituar and FED-EX forum with other sights within walking distance. The room was great and the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent a night at the Westin while attending an event at the Fed-Ex forum. The location can't be beat, it is right across the street from the arena and on the corner of Beale. The room and hotel was great as well, a little pricey after taxes and parking, over $300 for a night which is a little more than I like to pay. Other than the rate, everything was great!
Room was spacious and clean, hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Seems to me as though most all cookie cutter branded hotels have lost their sheen lately; not so with this Westin. The front desk was exceptionally nice. We noted one particular one man at the front desk early in the morning, crisply dressed, smiling and overall being a front desk staff any hotel would love to have as an associate. Oddly enough, he was still there late that afternoon, continuing to be as crisp and nice as he was earlier that morning. Our top room floor was clean and quiet. We laughed at the extravagant mini bar prices, but that's par for any hotel these days. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of all the main downtown attractions, and the adjacent (busy) Starbucks is a great respite from the basically off limits mini bar. The hotel does not have a pool, which might be a drawback for families with kids, especially in the hot, swaggering summers Memphis occasionally conjures. The only reason I'm not giving this place an "excellent" rating is the snail paced, expensive valet. In a word, terrible.
Overall, though, great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Westin (almost on) Beale Street for a few nights last month. I was pleasntly surprised that it was across the street from the Gibson guitar factory and the FedEx arena. The rooms were nice (fairly typical Westin), the lobby was nice and the hotel bars were solid.

I like the location (close to Beale street which was fun) and found the hotel service to be quite good.

There were however two opportunity areas. First, the location is a bit of a double edged sword. While its fun to have funky bars and restaurants around the corner that also means that if you are out walking around at night you have good odds of running into some people who are VERY drunk. I wasn't that concerned with the two gentlemen who were throwing the parking sign in front of the hotel but I am sure that would make most travellers uncomfortable at best.

Secondly, I was surprised that there didnt seem to be a breakfast option at the hotel other than room service!?!? It may be that I missed something but after hunting around I wound up with a Diet Coke and a Clif bar in my room....

I would stay again but would offer these caveats to others considering the property.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadGuy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Memphis Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Memphis Beale Street

Property: The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Address: 170 Lt. George Washington Lee Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#18 Family Hotel in Memphis
#22 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Memphis Beale Street 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Memphis hotel is located just behind the world-famous Beale Street, home of the blues, and minutes away from the excitement of the city. We offer guests over 200 hotel rooms and 9 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Memphis Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Memphis Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Westin Memphis Beale Street
Memphis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing