We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
Ranked #16 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Six of us stayed in two rooms in this Best Western. Clean rooms, nice people at the counter, good internet. This is not the biggest of hotels, but is pretty comfortable, and is definitely good value-for-money. The free breakfast is pretty good too. However, only one of the elevators was working. The neighborhood is not particularly 'nice', but we found out that this is the case for most of the area around Downtown and Midtown Memphis, so cannot really complain all that much. We rent at Best Western chains often, and this one definitely met our expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 473 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a really good experience at this hotel. It was clean, the staff members were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The location of the hotel was also convenient to downtown. The clerk showed us where to catch the trolley and gave us a map to find some of the places were hoping to find. The breakfast was good and everything was well stocked and kept clean in the dining area. We would definitely stay here again when we are in Memphis.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mandmwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My daughter had an interview at the Southern College of Optometry. This hotel was less than a block away from the school. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, and the free breakfast was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in December 2013.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. Our room was warm and spotless. Despite being near to a fairly busy road the room was quiet and we slept well.

The hotel was a bit further from downtown than we had expected but the location was still good. The area was full of hospitals and felt safe enough. We walked to downtown one night but I would not recommend due to the busy roads.

The breakfast was ok and had the standard choice of make your own waffles, cereal and pre made eggs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel was convenient to downtown and midtown and near lots of restaurants. The hotel room was clean and neat and the best was very comfortable. The bathroom was chilly without any heating vent so we left the door open most of the time. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel was very clean and well kept. The breakfast was good for a hotel. The only item I had any issue with was that the pillows were not long enough to place between knees for sleeping. I recommend for any person interviewing at the optometry school nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nickales H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel had a brilliantly helpful staff. The room was clean, the bed was pretty comfy (especially the cozy comforter), and the water was HOT. The only problem I had with this hotel was the thinness of the walls. Not only could I hear clearly the angry man in the room beside me at 3am, but I could even hear the conversation of the ladies on the other side of my room as well. Though they were not talking as late as 3am, they were speaking at a normal volume and I could still make out half of their words. As long as you don't have a neighbor up all night yelling into their phone (like I did), or you are a heavy sleeper, then this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
903 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gen X Inn

Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $106 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing