We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road construction ruined our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
Ranked #17 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staff was unconcerned at our arrival due to massive road construction in front of hotel. We were unable to get into the hotel parking lot due to construction. Later, we used the shuttle service to go to dinner at a nearby casino. We only had an appetizer there and called for the shuttle to take us back. Driver was very helpful after a large tip because we made an additional stop. She recommended a local pizzeria for our dinner which turned out just ok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 479 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is a remodeled building in the midst of older buildings in the Hospital district of Memphis, TN. It has been re-conformed quite nicely. It is a small hotel but furnished comfortably. It was a nice place to stay. A great family restaurant was near by; (4-5 blocks). The restaurant had friendly service and great food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was very clean and comfortable, maybe a little smaller than some Best Westerns, but the staff was courteous, helpful and the rooms were good. The breakfast was better than some "free" motel breakfasts with sausage, biscuits and pre-cooked scrambled eggs, make-them-yourself waffles and cereals, pastries, yogurt, juice, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is a very small one w/23 or 26 rooms. I was not excited about staying here because I felt it was so far away from Beale St. however a $9 cab ride plus tip changd my mind. Hotels on Union & near Beale are so expensive $ this was 1/2 the price. Free parking an added bonus as many hotels charge $12/$15 day. Located in Midtown in the medical district.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our first nights room had a terrible bed - had to change rooms the next day. Staff unwilling to help move to different room. Front office staff was polite and helpful. Breakfast was below average for this chain. Location is convenient for just about everything. Rooms were clean, WiFi reception is hit and miss. Ended up using the available computer downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank titans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Best Western Plus Gen X Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

I want to apologize for the inconvenience you faced while staying at our hotel. We have ordered new beds and they will be arriving within the month. And as far as the internet is concerned we do have a company that monitors the internet and is able to check the signal and is able to reset if needed. The number would have been located in the directory or is available at the front desk. The breakfast we are looking into ways to improve but are limited due to being a small hotel with limited space. Hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Jenn Bhikha
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Facility was close to Road Atlanta... Unofficial race headquarters... Most of folks was working with stayed there. Convenient... Food was good. Supplied us with EXTRA TOWELS... Put up with the NOISE...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a great visit to this hotel. Stayed 2 nights. Linda at the front desk was amazing and very helpful giving us recommendations and local tips on where to go and what to see. Will definitely stay again on our next visit. Thanks You.

Room Tip: Very close (2 blocks) to the trolley that takes you downtown for $1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#3 of 139 in Memphis
961 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gen X Inn

Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $100 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing