We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
1 review
“Uncomfortable Stay”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel looked nothing like the pictures! The elevators-not working. The hallways looks and feels like a cave. The room nice, however our room was overlooking someone's office. That same someone could clearly see n2 our room so we spent the week'd with the curtains shut.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hotelreviewer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I want to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate it if you could call the hotel and would ask for the manager. I would like to make it right. I looked through our log book and did not see a note about the elevator not working, we do have 2 elevators so I am surprised that possibly both could go down at the same time. And as far as the buildings next to us, they are 1 story buildings and our hotel rooms start on the 2nd floor and all the rooms have sheers. I would like to know which room you were in so that if there is a possibility of privacy issues I would like to go ahead and get it taken care of. Thank you again


Jenn Bhikha
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    157
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
79
163
24
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff was very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to provide information about the city and to recommend transportation. The hotel is 10 minutes from the airport by taxi (during low traffic hours). The rooms were comfortable and clean and a good value for location within the city. A complementry breakfast is available which is a time saver.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEB1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We ( 4 adults ) booked this hotel with Best Western and received a confirmation number. After a long flight from UK we arrived at reception at 6pm. Receptionist told us our reservation had been canceled by someone at the hotel admin. I explained and showed her we had confirmation and the reservation was still live on the Best Western system as confirmed.
She was totally negative and all she kept saying " we are fully booked here is a list of other hotels in Memphis to try". We said no chance and after 45 minutes of arguing with her and then calling her manager at home they finally came up with 2 rooms.
Later the Best Western customer service apologised but the hotel never did.

The hotel is in a fairly good location for the tram into town.
The general service of the hotel is terrible.
The breakfast was minimal all guests had to ask for various items to be replenished.
The trash bin at breakfast was overflowing on to the floor every morning and we and other guests had to ask the staff to empty them.
I lived in the US for years and visited Memphis many times this is the worst service from any hotel and not up to normal standards in the US.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen_73_10, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. I remember your stay from September. I did talk to someone in your party regarding the situation upon arrival and I would like to apologize again. There was reservations booked through Expedia that were canceled the same day you booked from Best Western. And my staff should have done a through job on looking to see what source the reservation and cancelation had come from. We were booked that weekend and ended up walking two of our other guests to another hotel and kept the original rooms for your party as booked. I talked to my front desk representative and advised her she should not have had the attitude she did. Please be assured this is not the norm for our hotel.

Jenn Bhikha
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Best western plus gen x inn is really nice place to stay. The staff was great and friendly. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel is very close to all the downtown activities. I would recommend anyone who visits Memphis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_202520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This BW + Gen X Hotel is very good. The staff is friendly, the Hotel is very clean and the breakfast was above par. I will definitively stay there again on my next trip. We wanted to be close to the Beale Street music scene and the hotel is about a mule away. There is mass transportation available if you want, but we drove down. Parking at the Hotel is included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpoj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I wanted a spectacular vacation in Memphis and read past reviews of this hotel, I took a gamble by the pics on the site and the description and WOW glad i did...it was awesome from the time you pull in til the time you leave...awesome staff on all shifts...room service was very friendly and hard workers...i recommend this place if you want a clean and friendly place to stay!!! Thanks to them I had an amazing time on my first trip to Memphis...see you again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were a little bit worried based on some of the earlier reviews we read here, but were pleasantly surprised. 1. We never ever felt like we were in a bad neighborhood. This looks a little like an industrial neighborhood because of all the hospitals and medical offices here. 2. We saw the police patrolling the fenced in lot. 3. It is a bit of a hike to the trolley car stop, but being able to leave our car at the hotel was totally worth it. A big plus was the trolley car drivers who were very helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do. The hotel is updated, clean, and the rooms were plenty large and comfortable. We were trying to find lodging at $90 and under on our road trip, and this came in at just over $100 including tax. Nice hot breakfast with bananas and hot cereal plus free newspaper and the proximity to downtown made it worth it. Would definitely recommend to friends and family visiting Memphis.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and received one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
1.8 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing