We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's cheap enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
Ranked #16 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you want to save some money relative to the downtown hotels, then this is a potential option. It's fine, but the area isn't great. Sure I'd walk with someone else to the trolley stop (or alone during the day as a male), which is 1.5 blocks away, 15 -20 minutes between trolleys, and you can get right downtown on it, but it's not an area that seems very safe or inviting for a leisurely stroll. Don't leave anything in your car. But given those standard precautions I felt comfortable staying there. Room was reasonable in comfort but carpet and upholstery are showing some age. A.C. units under the windows leave something to be desired. I had allergy problems in the room and I suspect there could be some dirty filters or some mold coming out of those units. Breakfast is included and is the standard for an economy hotel. In terms of using the trolley, I found they were too far apart for my liking. Coming from the northeast, Memphis seems very uncongested, so I felt it was a relative cinch to drive 5 minutes downtown and find street parking (I was there on a Friday and a weekend, I don't know what mid-week is like). There was a Holiday Inn Express nearby, so I would check other prices. This place is no great shakes, but not bad either, so it should be competitive on price for you to stay here. Note, at night time if you are taking the trolley back to the hotel, ask the conductor if he can drop you right in front of the Gen X -- our guy offerred it to us -- avoids a walk in a slightly seedy area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 479 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though we live locally, we have stayed at this hotel twice because of it's proximity to Zoo events. It is located in a fairly run-down area of Midtown, but the parking lot is fenced-in with camera security. It is a Best Western, so it is not fancy, but the room is clean and larger than most. (Ask for a back corner room, and it is quiet enough to hear a pin drop.) The bed is comfortable with nice linens and lots of pillows. The breakfast is mostly standard fare of juice, cereals and waffles but did include a hot selection of sausage patties, egg patties and baked biscuits. The price is right and we'll continue to make this our stay-over place in the future.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms on a floor. Ask for a back corner room to avoid street traffic. Quiet, in cap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWildBlueYonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was great , The staff was very friendly and helpful , That is what you would expect after a 12 hr trip. The rooms were very clean and well kept. Thats why we stayed again on our trip back from Grand Haven MI . Will definetly stay here again !

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean ,a/c unite was quiete, Nice big soft beds , No smoke smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERNESTO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

stayed here during I.B.C. week on Beale St.Very nice,quiet, clean.Staff most friendly and helpful.Trolley to downtown block away,or if your up to it can walk,only 2 miles.Excellant breakfast.Will definetly stay again,next time in Memphis

Room Tip: all rooms nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Excellent new place.good value. Good meal at Cafe Fuel. Seems convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was good. Although not in the most scenic part of town it is a great value for the money. We felt safe and secure. It is close downtown without the high prices, and it is also close to the hospitals which was the reason for our stay. We checked out a few of the other hotels in the area before we booked a room and this was the best price. We also mentioned that we had a family member in the hospital nearby and they gave us a discount. We needed to stay an additional night so we called the hotel from the hospital they took care of it no problem. Also this nights stay was at the discounted price. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The GenX hotel has great service, great breakfast and great housekeeping staff. Although far walking distance from Beale st and downtown, taxis are cheap. Go with Arrow Cab. Feels like home no matter where you are traveling from.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epurcell203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#4 of 138 in Memphis
955 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
1.8 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#12 of 138 in Memphis
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gen X Inn

Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $107 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing