We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Davies Manor Plantation
Ranked #72 of 155 things to do in Memphis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic property, located in Bartlett, includes the oldest log home in Shelby County open to the public, thirty-two acres of plantation land, and numerous outbuildings. These outbuildings range from a tenant cabin to a commissary to a gristmill to an outhouse. Additionally, the property contains several gardens, including a kitchen garden and a medicinal herb garden. In the future, visitors will also be able to enjoy an arboretum and nature trails. Our current interpretive program primarily consists of docent-led tours of the log home and a self-guided walking tour of the grounds and outbuildings.
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We attended our friends wedding this summer here. Sooooo beautiful. Everything was just lovely. Reception was held and site as well and was just lovely as well. Was a treat to get to see this hystoric ground up close and personal

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RAChampeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi P, Public Relations Manager at Davies Manor Plantation, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are so glad that you were able to engage with the historic property while visiting for a wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Davies Manor Plantation”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Worth seeing if you like historical homes. The entrance fee is very inexpensive. Davies Plantation was a working plantation. The home and buildings on the property were interesting and maintained without completely restoring them. Visitors are able to go into the manor house where docents show you about the home and provide historical anecdotes. A lot of the things in the home date back to the original Davies owners.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi P, Public Relations Manager at Davies Manor Plantation, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland TN
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“History Buffs will love this place.”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A neat tour of an old house and land owned by Mrs. Davies. SHe had a lot of influence and land in the Bartlett and Lakeland areas. The tour guide was very informative and dressed in the past. It Is one of TN War Historical sites. If you have a City Pass or Entertainment book they have coupons you can use for admission. My daughter enjoyed the tour and even thought about being a tour guide. You can walk the grounds after you take the tour.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank LakelandLady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi P, Public Relations Manager at Davies Manor Plantation, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the review! Some of our docents dress in historic garb, while others do not. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the docent-led tour and had a good time at our site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Davies Manor Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing