We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old graves--lots of history”
Review of Elmwood Cemetery

Elmwood Cemetery
Ranked #14 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very old graves--lots of history”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

There is an audio tour which we didn't take, it was probably very good, but really wanted to go at our own pace and drive the streets that looked interesting. We found many gravestones from the 1800s. There is a civil war (CSA) memorial too. There are about 20 civil war generals buried there. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    99
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis of tranquility!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Tripadvisor's Memphis attractions reviews made us visit Elmwood Cemetery on our way back to North Carolina. We did not purchase the informative audio guided tour. It is must though if you want to learn and be informed about the many historical facets of this beautiful place. We drove and walked around the cemetery, taking in the tranquility, peacefulness and beauty of this place with it's lush flowering vegetation and it's many impressive monuments, tombstones and old grave sites that differ so much from today's resting places. Taking in the very peace, quietness and beauty this cemetery radiates has been an exceptional experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IMGERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cemetary! Worth a drive or walk through!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We pre-ordered the CD Audio tour and even though we didnt end up following it exactly, it was great. It was very informative and offered a great Memphis history lesson. They offer tours through the cemetary or you can explore on your own. I am a history buff and believe that to get to know a city you should visit their cemetaries.. some of them are so incredibly beautiful and the statuary at Elmwood is definitely worth the drive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyB4463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
279 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Beautiful cemetery with old grave monuments”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We entered the cemetery by a back entrance, which doesn't exist according to the reception lady, but we did and it wasn't through the best of neighborhoods ! But when we found the old building we paid the fee for the audio tour and started. Unfortunately it wasn't what we expected, it was very historical, lots of facts and figures and less about the persons behind the stories. We quit the tour after 40 minutes and drove via the "bridged road" off the cemetery to find ourselves in the best neighborhood of Memphis. There are a few mausoleums and a good number of decorated grave monuments. Nice to spend an hour in the air conditioned car on a hot day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you love history even a little...”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Then you should to the Elmwood Cemetery. Wy wife and I paid the $10 for the audio guided tour, which comes on a CD, so make sure you have a working CD player in your car. Over the course of about an hour we learned about the movers and shakers of Memphis history and some of the most charming characters of its past like the "Mary Magdalene of Memphis" and the 6-times widowed murderess. I don't know if you can get much better entertainment for $10.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ubertravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Elmwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing