We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating trip through Memphis history”
Review of Elmwood Cemetery

Elmwood Cemetery
Ranked #13 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fascinating trip through Memphis history”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Elmwood is a beautiful park-like cemetery full of beautiful art and fascinating history. Stop in the picturesque office to purchase the car tour CD and cruise in climate-contolled comfort through the grounds, listening to the wonderful stories of historical figures both historic and notorious, tragic and hilarious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesigningWoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    99
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“big and such variety”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

It is easy to drive around and look at the headstones and monuments but you can walk too. Very big place and lots to see

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank madtravler711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Cemetery”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My info is old, and I don't know how much may have changed since I visited Elmwood Cemetery over 20 years ago. The fact that the visit is still vivid in my mind should say something! If you are a fan of funeary art as I am, or a fan of sculpture, a history buff, or just someone fascinated by funeral practices, then Elmwood Cemetary will not disappoint. It is beautiful, historic, and still operating. It is a pre-Civil War cemetery built on concentric circles. When I went the entrance was really hard to find; it may be better marked now. Bring your camera, water, bug spray (if it's summer) sign up for a tour if it's offered, or just buy the map. Some of the artwork is simply stunning and spectacular, some is simple, some is moving. I went with my mom and she was particularly interested in finding the grave of the nuns who were martyred after their selfless (and ultimately fatal) care of Yellow Fever victims. If I ever get a chance to visit Memphis again, I'll definitely have Elmwood Cemetery on my list of places to revisit. If you can't wait, they do have a website and I believe two books have been published with photos of some of the amazing statuary.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaNative07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This Graveyard Is Poorly Maintained. The Manner In Which It Is Maintained Is Criminal And Disrespects All Who Are Buried There.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham Uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“cemetery”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Lovely to look around ,peacefully after a night out on the town.bigger than we thought,morbid but history right in front of you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elmwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing