We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venue for my great-niece's wedding on 9-7-13”
Review of Elmwood Cemetery

Elmwood Cemetery
Ranked #13 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Venue for my great-niece's wedding on 9-7-13”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The wedding was held in the quaint chapel on the grounds. It is a small but beautiful place.I was skeptical about a wedding being held on cemetery grounds, but it was an elegant affair.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrinceJr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    99
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A beautiful cemetery and neat Audio CD tour!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived here on a Saturday afternoon, shortly after the offices closed for the day, but thankfully a nice worker who was there was still able to sell us the CD audio tour of the cemetery. The cd is very well laid out and gives plenty of neat information and stories of so many people buried there, it took us roughly 2 hours to complete, that includes stopping now and then to take pictures. The map itself of the tour is also very well laid out and easy to follow, however there are a few very well known civil war officers that are buried there that were not listed, hope to make it back there and find them.

Overall, if you are a lover of history & cemeteries like us, this is definitely a place to check out if you are ever in Memphis!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bam_and_maize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Interesting headstones”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Rented the audio tour CD for $10. Neat seeing the amazing headstones, but after 45 to 50 minutes we grew weary as the CD and tour takes about an hour. Very nice gentleman at cottage where audio tour CD are rented. Good historical perspective on Memphis.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Audio Tour”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

With the CD, you drive throughout the cemetery and Memphis history unfolds with each turn/grave site. Very interesting. One of the most interesting points on our trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HulaGirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwestern, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although a trip to a cemetery where no one you know is buried might seem strange, it was a very interesting part of our trip to Memphis. We arrived late and the gates close at 4:30, so we didn't get to tour it all. The parts we did see were worth the trip alone. If you don't want the audio tour cd ($10) it is free to visit, but I think you will miss a lot. The statuary is beautiful and different, but without the cd we wouldn't have known about the special graves that are there...Shelby Foote, mass grave of the victims of yellow fever, the mass slave grave and many more. Get there early and pay for the cd.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stkn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Elmwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing