We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween Tour is great”
Review of Elmwood Cemetery

Elmwood Cemetery
Ranked #13 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southaven, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Halloween Tour is great”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

If you are able to visit Elmwood on Halloween or close to it, the tour is very fun. If not, this is still a very old and beautifully landscaped cemetery. Many of my family members are buried here going back 5 generations. A lot of Memphis history can be learned about and seen here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank devinamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    99
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“N ot just for the dead”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

What a fascinating plae to visit. So much history and artistry. I reccomend a guided tour first then come back and walk turu in your own time.

Helpful?
Thank angeltours2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rich history!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The tours, whether in your car w/ a CD guide or the costumed ones are just chillers!! Goose bumps and an utterly beautiful piece of Memphis history!

Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My teenaged daughter and I really enjoyed visiting Elmwood Cemetery. We are both history buffs, and it is a beautiful setting with some important insight into Memphis and American history in general. I definitely recommend the audio tour. It was a little hard to find, but worth the effort.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rmn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this cemetery”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

It's a beautiful, peaceful place, full of history.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank memphis_momofyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elmwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing