We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very interesting”
Review of Pink Palace Museum

Pink Palace Museum
Ranked #18 of 153 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pink Palace Museum is one of the largest facilities of its kind in the Southeast. You can walk through a replica of the first self-service grocery store in the country, Clarence Saunders' Piggly Wiggly. Explore the cultural and natural history of the Mid-South through exciting exhibits, dioramas, and audio-visuals. Trace Memphis' development from the time of Spanish explorers through the Civil War and the yellow fever epidemics. Learn from the award-winning medical exhibit how health care grew to be Memphis' largest industry.
Pickwick, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

the Imax theater is a must see the planetarium is a little outdated but the man said they were fixing to redo the whole thing and would be finished about September. the museum part has not changed much in all the year ago that I have went they have added some new stuff. enjoy it was a fun trip

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    180
    86
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A little overpriced”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I loved the roast beef and cheese sandwich as well as the buffalo chicken wrap. Both were huge and flavorful! I also had a double espresso. It was not worth the cost. The sandwiches and chips were $6-7. With drinks the total was $20 for a child and adult meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank penntrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Memphis Gem”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The history of the building and the grounds is just as interesting as the exhibits. The museum was actually built as the private home of Clarence Saunders. Mr Saunders is the innovator of the grocery story. There is a replica of what his store looked like back in the day. This museum is so varied with exhibits that encompass nature, such as exhibits on prehistoric man, birds, bugs, animals in the wild including those that are endangered or extinct. There's a vignette of what Memphis looked like in the early days. Along with all the exhibits, there's also a Planetarium and and IMAX Theatre. The Theatre was closed when we were there for remodeling to a CTS, not sure what that is, but we did not get to view the theatre. The Planetarium shows change, so it's worth it to checkout the website to find out about the different shows.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelon2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocahontas, Arkansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“another place for honymooners.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We was there in October. We was married on this month in 2013. And we really like this place and planning going back this summer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Went not expecting much, but enjoyed!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The Pink Palace is no Smithsonian Museum of Natural History, but I really had a good time. I had a few hours to kill on a Sunday afternoon, and I spent them here. I learned a lot in their evolution exhibit (not sure what to actually call it). I also really liked the life sized replica of the first piggy wiggly supermarket and the medical history/pharmacy section.

If you do go, check and see if the planetarium is opened or not....it was closed when I went.

Helpful?
1 Thank K8lyn-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Palace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pink Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing