We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Pink Palace Museum

Pink Palace Museum
Ranked #22 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pink Palace Museum is one of the largest facilities of its kind in the Southeast. You can walk through a replica of the first self-service grocery store in the country, Clarence Saunders' Piggly Wiggly. Explore the cultural and natural history of the Mid-South through exciting exhibits, dioramas, and audio-visuals. Trace Memphis' development from the time of Spanish explorers through the Civil War and the yellow fever epidemics. Learn from the award-winning medical exhibit how health care grew to be Memphis' largest industry.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This a must see museum spend the whole day and do the Imax and Planetarium. very educational and so much to learn and see. This is also the cheapest place to buy Elvis sunglasses.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank natasha10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    181
    88
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Such a pleasure to visit.

Not a whole lot to see in the mansion, but what there is on display is extremely interesting and the museum displays are very good. It is a shame that the mansion has so much empty space when they say there is a lot in storage that could be displayed.

Surprising that there is not more marketing to promote this place ... as far as Memphis attractions go, this is better than most (and certainly better than the Elvis 'mansion' which is a country cottage compared to the Pink Palace).

The IMAX experience was also brilliant ... we saw one on caving which captivated us.

We also meandered around surrounding streets and this showed a lot about the architecture of the Memphis elite.

A fantastic place ... a must see!

And there is a great cafe there, as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JP-6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's good to pass to time but....”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

If you are from a normal big city you may find this place dated and a bit small. Not much hands on stuff for kids. The dinosaur is cool but that's about it. We saw the planetarium show "star of wonder" and boy oh boy did we begin to wonder- where are we? Right- the Bible South. It's all about a star from the Bible. Never knew religion could explain Science at a science museum but that is what we learned. Anyway the IMAX had some cartoon movies for kids. No walking on the escalator people - seriously they freak out about these things. It's an ok place and we had reciprocity with our museum so we did it for free. I wish I could get that hour in the planetarium back but alas, it's not to be.

Helpful?
1 Thank getcluedincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must see in Memphis”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I first visited here at age ten. It seemed such an enormous place then. You must overlook the fact the place is from the last century. There is still much to enjoy as you walk through this former private mansion.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1ChangNoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A little dated….”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We haven't been to Pink Palace in years, but after taking some out of town friends, we wen't impressed! It hasn't changed in years… it is almost stuck in time!

The highpoint is the prehistoric exhibit and the original Piggly Wiggly store… it is amazing to see how times have chafed!

It is amazing that the Pink Palace was originally built as a private residence!!!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Palace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pink Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing