We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”
Review of Pink Palace Museum

Pink Palace Museum
Ranked #24 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pink Palace Museum is one of the largest facilities of its kind in the Southeast. You can walk through a replica of the first self-service grocery store in the country, Clarence Saunders' Piggly Wiggly. Explore the cultural and natural history of the Mid-South through exciting exhibits, dioramas, and audio-visuals. Trace Memphis' development from the time of Spanish explorers through the Civil War and the yellow fever epidemics. Learn from the award-winning medical exhibit how health care grew to be Memphis' largest industry.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Too expensive and really designed for young children. Not very good when compared to similar museums in other cities

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gotravelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    183
    89
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Saturday”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went to the Memphis famous Pink Palace Museum to see an IMAX show about Great White Sharks. Spent over 2 hours walking through the natural history exhibits. 11-year old niece really enjoyed the exhibit which was a great bonus. Museum is in great shape, bathrooms clean. Security in the parking lot. Great day at the museum. A really nice way to spend a Saturday!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieLeigh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The pink palace was a nice play the grocery store was a disappointment we thought it was going to be like the Louisiana Childrens Museum Grocery store. we Liked the dinosaurs So it made up for it we will return

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lbb36526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as great as we hoped”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were excited to visit the Pink Palace. We viewed the museum and exhibits, and the planetarium. Nothing was all that great. Just typical museum, not really worth what we paid.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cricks57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't Miss their Deli”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A great little museum, though repeated visits naturally erode the excitement. There are not enough new or traveling exhibits. Their best attraction is the IMAX theater, and we usually visit when a new show arrives.

Be sure to visit the deli when you are there for lunch or a snack. The sandwiches are made fresh and are really good. The service is a bit slow, but they are caring and making some good food.

The planetarium is another great stop for kids, but it seems that their programs are getting less interesting and easier to sleep through.

A good place to stop in on a hot Memphis summer day. But not a place to keep coming back to over and over.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank yuravgjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Palace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pink Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing