We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much for kids, but enjoyable for adults”
Review of Pink Palace Museum

Pink Palace Museum
Ranked #18 of 153 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pink Palace Museum is one of the largest facilities of its kind in the Southeast. You can walk through a replica of the first self-service grocery store in the country, Clarence Saunders' Piggly Wiggly. Explore the cultural and natural history of the Mid-South through exciting exhibits, dioramas, and audio-visuals. Trace Memphis' development from the time of Spanish explorers through the Civil War and the yellow fever epidemics. Learn from the award-winning medical exhibit how health care grew to be Memphis' largest industry.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not much for kids, but enjoyable for adults”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have a family membership, which we use every other month or so. The kids get bored pretty quickly, but I could spend half a day there. Good variety of exhibits. Christmas time is the best time to visit if you are only going once a year.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MemphisMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    180
    86
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So Glad I Made The Effort...”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I am so glad I made the effort to see the Pink Palace (PP). Using public transportation, it took me two busses and about a mile walk to get to this gem. The museum has something for everyone--I especially liked the Elvis at 21 pictorial display, movie on the Arctic in the IMAX theater, and special display on the historic black women of Memphis. The building and grounds are impressive, as is one of the best museum shops I have seen. Well worth the time and effort, though its probably easier to get to if you have a car.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DSJSJCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not worth the time”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went for an exhibit of Elvis photographs. It was excellent. But the rest of the Pink Palace was uninteresting. Boring.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric22754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family loves to visit the Pink Palace. There are interesting artifacts and exhibits for all ages, and my 7 year old is at just the right age to really enjoy it. The Imax movies are an additional fee, but they are usualy well worth it. We watched the Arctic movie this time, and really enjoyed it. The temporary exhibits include a photography exhibit of "Elvis at 21" and dinosaurs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BradenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had a really good time when we went. Things have changed alot though so Im not sure what all is included in admission these days. However on those smoltering hot summer days cant think of many other things better than exploring INDOORS

Helpful?
Thank RAChampeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Palace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pink Palace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing