We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best music in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rum Boogie Cafe

Rum Boogie Cafe
Ranked #34 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Of all the clubs and bars on Beale Street, Rum Boogie Cafe is the one not to miss. If their superfine rum selection and beer aren't enough to entice you, the Cajun and barbecue menu should-ribs, fried catfish, gumbo and red beans and rice served by fast and friendly servers. Live Music 7 days a week 365 days a year!
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best music in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good food and the best music on Beale, what a combination. The fried chicken is great. Be warned they do allow smoking indoors.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ladybluez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    208
    90
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular, but spectacular service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Pretty minimal beer selection. Definitely a liquor bar. Our bartender was very nice, and there was a music festival going on at the time, so the live music was awesome. More than I would want to pay for drinks, but its in a touristy area where drinks would naturally cost a bit more.

Helpful?
Thank jadorejadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Must go to! It is part of the night life in Memphis...you can't go to Beale street and not at least have a beer here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank UberCoolAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Monday night appeared to be slow for them, however, our waiter was on it. Food was timely and good and the house band was enjoyable. Had a good time. Wish my town had one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were in Memphis and asked the waiter at the restaurant where some good music was. He said BB King's had music but, if we wanted to get away from the tourists, we should go to Rum Boogie's. He as absolutely right. Service was rapid and very friendly. Drinks were well priced. The music was absolutely outstanding. Reading the names on the hundreds of guitars was a history lesson. I highly recommend anyone visit this place, have a couple of cold ones, and totally enjoy the music.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rum Boogie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing