We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malory-Neely house tour was fabulous”

Victorian Village Historic District
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Haunted Memphis Bus Tour
More Info
$41.52*
and up
Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Malory-Neely house tour was fabulous”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Our guide Joyce was very knowledgable and interesting to talk to, we were the only people on the 10.30 tour and we had Joyce's undivided attention. The house is beautiful and we spent an hour on the tour, well worth $7.
Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickymain88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“The Mallory-Neely House was worth it, had a bad experience at Woodruff-Fontaine”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Mallory-Neely House is really an excellent tour, and I would recommend it without hesitation to anyone interested in Victorian Gothic style and architecture--go, go go! Virtually everything in the house is original to the owners of the home which makes it unique from most houses of its kind. Also, our tour guide was incredibly personable and knowledgeable which added a lot to the experience. The Woodruff-Fontaine House has a lot of really incredible, well-preserved old clothing in it, so if you like to see Victorian clothing it would be worth the trip, and there is a nice piece of stained glass on the stairs, but almost nothing in the house is original to the home, so it's really not all that impressive compared to the other home. Also, I was quite offended by the tour guide. She was having a conversation with the others in our group during the tour about the statue of Nathan Bedford Forrest being moved because of his relationship to the Ku Klux Klan (he founded it) and she was talking about how outrageous that was and said "They should do the same thing to the statue of Martin Luther King." Then there was a conversation about how the Ku Klux Klan really wasn't that bad of an organization at first, that its real mission was to protect women and children when NBF founded it, etc. Whether or not you believe any of that or not (my purpose in mentioning it is not to start an argument on race relations), I don't think that's appropriate content for a guided tour and it didn't have any relevance whatsoever to the content of the home. It cast a pall on the entire experience of the Victorian Village and made me reconsider wanting to visit any more homes of people who owned slaves.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank busitrav33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting tours.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Mallory-Neely House and Woodruff-Fontaine House each have interesting tours. Mallory-Neely is very ornate on the bottom floor and has beautiful period furniture throughout. Woodruff-Fontaine (woodruff-fontaine.com) contains a large collection of period clothing as well. Each highlight the history of Memphis upper crust during late 1800s and early 1900s. On Adams Street near downtown.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CassidyBayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Creepy - Nothing Open”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went to the Victorian Village Historic District to tour several victorian style homes that were built from 1846 into 1890's and found that only one home is open. The other homes haven't been open for quite a long time. The Woodruff- Fontaine House was the only house open and worth the tour. But if you came to see the other houses as well or walk along the street - don't waste your time in this area.

This Millionaire's Row area difinitely does not live up to its name. Everything looks a bit run down, the neighborhood is a bit creepy and we were there on a weekday sunny afternoon. We were wondering if we'd make it out of the neighborhood and not get mugged as we had walked up from the closet trolley stop. We found out this is a bad part of town now a days.

Other than the Woodruff-Fontaine House there is nothing else here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Hazel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Woodruff-Fontaine House”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

the Woodruff-Fontaine House is a historic building constructed in 1871 on what was once "Millionaire's Row". It is located at 680 Adams Avenue and operated for tours, luncheons, weddings, and as a gift shop. The museum curator A.J. gives an enthusiastic tour that is informative and fun. The house itself is beautiful and the pieces on display reflect the period, many antiques that belonged to the previous families that live there. The decorating theme throughout the house changes with the seasons so you can go several times throughout the year and always learn something new.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Village Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Village Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing