We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wandered in on wet, cool night”
Review of King's Palace Cafe

King's Palace Cafe
Order Online
Ranked #84 of 1,700 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Kings Palace Café located at 162 Beale Street, has the old time Beale Street atmosphere of good food and good music. King Palace Café has a large dining room and a lazy outdoor patio, also the Jazz Room for live Blues and Memphis Music nightly. Open For Lunch And Dinner 7 days and nights a week. Kings Palace Café serves Cajun cuisine ranging from Shrimp & Crawfish Etouffee, Blackened Catfish, Voodoo Potatoes, and many more. They also have pasta dishes, such as Shrimp Velvet, which is large butterfly shrimp on a bed of linguini with a mildly spiced cheddar cheese sauce, and many more pasta choices. Don't forget the Meat! King's Palace Café has Memphis Style (hickory smoked) BBQ Ribs, and New York Strips, Bacon Wrapped Filets, and Salmon Steaks (which are lightly smoked and grilled to perfection).
Reviewed April 7, 2017

I've listened to blues on their patio but ended up inside while my boys were watching the Grizzlies. This is authentic Beale Street! If you go inside, you will understand. I sat in the bar/dining area for happy hour and l must say it was a great experience. They have a stage adjacent for blues too. i had the smoked Memphis style wings and gumbo. It was on the appetizer menu but I couldn't eat it all (the wings were huge and so tasty). The service was impeccable and the staff (like most Memphians) take the time to talk to you. I've been in or out of every place on Beale and King's Palace is one of my favorites!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luvpigeonforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 648 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2017

We attended as part of a group, so we had arranged meals and entertainment.
Location was great for feel of the area. Food was thumbs up and service great.
Entertainment was super and great reflection of that offered along the Street.
Definitely recommend for dinner and launching into the evening on Beale St.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrynPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

We ordered three appetizers here, thinking that we were just going to get a snack. We were seated right away, and ordered gator chips, crab cakes, and fried pickles. We had more than enough food for a meal. The crab cakes were HUGE! And everything was absolutely delicious! The waitress came back often to refill our sweet tea. Overall a wonderful meal.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulandkris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

We happened upon King's Palace and were warmly welcomed to sit, enjoy the music and eat some great BBQ. We started with Fried Green tomatoes, which were delicious. Perfectly friend and seasoned. My main dish was BBQ ribs and pork with a side of coleslaw. The BBQ sauce was fantastic and the pork was very tender and juicy. I really liked the ribs but the pork was my favorite.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017 via mobile

Good place to go for dinner for two that won't break the bank. A platter for two of chicken breast(2), catfish filets(2), fried green tomatoes(4), cup of sausage gumbo and shrimp/crawfish etouffee for $30 was worth it. Everything was tasty except for the catfish was lacking in seasoning but not terrible.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank LaTosha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Palace Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing