We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local bar and best bar food”
Review of Huey's Southwind

Huey's Southwind
Ranked #140 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great local bar and best bar food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The burgers here are amazing. And, good beers on tap. This place has better food than most bars that are similar in ambiance. Plus, the service was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NateLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Southwind, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hey Nate, Thanks for much for coming to see us while visiting Memphis, and thanks for the kind words! I am thrilled to know you loved our food, beer selection, and service so much. Hope to see you again on your next trip down South! Thanks again. Sincerely, Shannon Little - Marketing and Events Coordinator - Huey's Restaurant - slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrightwood, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Hometown atmosphere, fantastic food. Burgers and fried pickles are highly recommended. Good beer selection and descent crowd. Friendly staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kloudkckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Southwind, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for coming to visit us, and thanks for the great review! Hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Shannon Little - Marketing and Events Coordinator - Huey's Restaurant - slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Overpriced and below average food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time in Memphis, first time at a Huey's. Not at all impressed , it was a seriously overpriced below average burger!!! The only thing I enjoyed was the sweet tea. Will not be returning to the restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crystal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Southwind, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Crystal, Thank you for your patronage to Huey's, and thank you for your feedback grearding your experience. Please know that we take all customer feedback very seriously and use it to continually improve our operations. Can you please email me your contact information to slittle@hueys.cc, so we can talk about this further? Sincerely, Shannon Little - Marketing and Events Coordinator - Huey's Restaurant - slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped in here on a Sunday night with two hungry teenagers. We were in town for a baseball tournament, and the boys were starving after their game. We thought we were going to a typical suburban burger joint. Instead, we came upon a treat of amazing live music. According to my Memphis friends, Huey's downtown is legendary for musical adventures. Apparently, this suburban outpost gets in on the action as well. Oh, and the burgers were very good too. Fun night!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelm0m64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Southwind, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
So happy you all happened upon us while in town for your tournament, and even happier you all had such a great time! We love hosting out of town guests and first timers. Our original location is in Midtown, and it opened in 1970. Since then, we have grown to 7 locations in the Memphis area. Each location has its own special personality, but all of them have live music on Sundays, wall writings, frill pick shooting, and the same delicious burgers. Thanks again for your patronage and for the great review. Hope we get to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Shannon Little - Marketing and Events Coordinator - Huey's Restaurants - slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
235 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Here you can get the best hamburger in Memphis. They have an extensive menu, and I have never been disappointed with anything I have ordered. The new Cuban sandwich is very tasty. The service is always friendly and excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Southwind, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for coming in to visit our Southwind location, and thanks for the sweet words here on Trip Advisor! We love our regular customers, and we always love to hear about the great experiences they have. Thanks again. Hope we can see you again soon for another round! Have a great weekend!

Sincerely,

Shannon Little
Marketing and Events Coordinator
Huey's Restaurants
slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huey's Southwind also viewed

 

Been to Huey's Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing