We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers ... great beer ... what more can I say?”
Review of Huey's Midtown

Huey's Midtown
Ranked #56 of 1,447 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Midtown
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
116 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great burgers ... great beer ... what more can I say?”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is not the type of place that you feel compelled to put your napkin in your lap. From the moment you come in and are expected to shoot a toothpick into the ceiling tiles or draw on the walls.

The burgers are to die for and the onion rings (RED ONION) are the best. After a trip to the zoo, we found Huey's just down the street. Our burgers were so juicy and delicious that I almost ordered seconds.

Gotta do the midtown location as this place has the MOST character.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldnavy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Midtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for coming to visit us all the way from New Mexico! I know you have many other dining options in Midtown Memphis, and I am happy to know you gave us a shot. I am also happy to know you all had such a great time! Hope you made some toothpicks into the ceiling. Sometimes it takes many tries. Hope we get to see you back again soon. Sincerely, Shannon Little Marketing and Events Coordinator Huey's Restaurant slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    60
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place. Good food. Good service.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all really. Popped in here last night (actually it was 1 am) for a night cap.
We got a warm welcome and the bar man was good enough to call a cab for us when we'd finished.
This morning we found out many people rate it as one of the best places to eat in town so tonight we've come back to put that opinion to the test. It has passed with flying colours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevins1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Midtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hey Kevin, Thank you so much for coming to visit us while in town! i am happy to know you made friends with the bartender and your service was excellent. Next time you come back, I encourage you to try one of our award winning burgers! Sincerely, Shannon Little Marketing and Events Coordinator Huey's Restaurant slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stopped by Huey's after a morning at Graceland”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped by Huey's, after a morning at Graceland, to see if they lived up to all the hype. Well, we are pleased to say " they did." Bonus: their service was quick and attentive, The menu offered just about anything you could want on a burger. We all ordered burgers of different configurations and each enjoyed every bite. Of special note were the onion straws: fresh, sweet and crisp. YUM!!
Overall, a great and memorable food experience in Memphis!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dallasgal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Midtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to see us while visiting Memphis! I know you have a lot of restaurant options in our great city, and I am happy to know you gave us a shot! I am even happier to know you all had such a great experience with us! We have proudly won the title of Best Burger in Memphis every year since 1984, and we encourage all of our customer to give one a try. Thanks again, and we hope to see you on your next visit! Sincerely, Shannon Little Marketing and Events Coordinator Huey's Restaurant slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Memphis landmark”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stop in for a piece of Memphis food history with Huey's always voted as having the best hamburger in Memphis. Great onion rings and fries. Often has live music on Sunday afternoons. Great atmosphere. Reasonable prices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregMemphisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Midtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Greg, Thank you so much for the great overview of our restaurant! We are both proud and humbled to have been vote Best Burger in Memphis every year since 1984 in the Memphis Magazine reader's poll, and every year since 1990 in the Memphis Flyer reader's poll. We are also proud to have the longest running jazz ensemble in Memphis, playing every Sunday afternoon at Huey's Midtown, and don't forget that good 'ol funk/rock/R&B sound at every location every Sunday evening. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back again soon! Sincerely, Shannon Little - Marketing and Events Coordinator - Huey's Restaurants - slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Blow it up!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family loved Hueys! They were anxious to blow the toothpicks into the ceiling and my daughter succeeded 13 times. We could have eaten here every night. All the food was excellent - expecially the onion rings!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank foemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shannonl649, Marketing and Events Coordinator at Huey's Midtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for coming to visit us while in Memphis! I know you have a lot of amazing restaurants to choose from, and I am thrilled to know you joined us! The toothpicks are definitely fun! We see grown-ups shoot them just as much as the children. Hope you can make it back for another round in the future! Thanks again. Sincerely, Shannon Little - Marketing and Events Coordinator - Huey's Restaurants - slittle@hueys.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huey's Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Huey's Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing