We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding filet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse

Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
366 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Outstanding filet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We wanted to get away from the local BBQ and tourist traps downtown and went to Folk's. Her father lived in Memphis and recommended it to us. The food and service were excellent, and the Filet was outstanding.

We would def go back and eat there and highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    29
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best steaks in Memphis, 100%”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'm a huge steak fan, and this is definitely THE best steak in Memphis. I've been there many times and the steaks are ALWAYS great. I take friends there on special occassions, and they all love it as well.
Also excellent are the potatoes and other sides (shoestring fries are fantastic).
[I have to admit I didn't like the Crab Cake appetizer, but the fried pickles are suprisingly good.]
They have a nice wine selection as well, if you like that.
The ONLY bad thing about FF is the parking. They have valet parking, which I don't use, and it can be a pain to park. Often I end up parking in the Kroger lot across the street.

Yes, the price is higher than Outback, but that's because of the much higher quality at FF.
My philosophy is: just ACCEPT GOING IN that you will spend ~$75 per person w/o alcohol, ~$100 per person with alcohol. Then just relax and enjoy and a SUPERB steak!!

I went to the Ruth's Chris on Poplar. The steak was not really good, although the service was absolutely superb. It was bad enough I didn't try again.
I also went to Fleming's on Poplar twice. It was OK, better than RC, but not near the quality of FF.
ButcherBlock was AWFUL for me. The food and the service were terrible.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Folks Folly is a Memphis Tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Folks Folly is a Memphis tradition for fine dining. For a steak you're not going to find any better in Memphis. The food was excellent, although I would suggest making reservations even during the week. We had a private room which the temperature was very very cold. We complained and asked the temperature can be turned up and they told us theyhad already done it. They may have adjusted the temperature, but it felt like we were in a meat locker during the entire meal. we were in a meal.

Everyone's food was excellent we had a party of seven and job with the food. It
is very pricey but in this case you get what you pay for!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MustangRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Filet filet filet!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This is where we go in Memphis for a great filet!!!!! My son always orders lobster tail. Key lime pie is the best I've ever had.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hernando33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steaks in memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Ambiance, excellent, wait staff Superb, the food,especially the steaks and sides, wonderful

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing