We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
Ranked #86 of 1,422 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I dined at the downtown location the last time I was in town, and now here at the orginal location! Wonderful breakfast - the breakfast sampler - eggs, grits and sausage gravy and biscuits!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jakey413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    90
    32
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lansing mi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ham biscuits took care of the craving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Not the best ever but good and if you're craving them, and happen to be staying right nearby, worth doing. The place is incredibly clean and cute. I found it on Yelp- reviewers ripped the service a little- while it wasn't bad the waitstaff was as rough as they say...not super friendly, no smiles - strange in the south.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank daphne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE!

I went there today; the staff was rude and short, explaining they were busy. The menu said the waffles came with whipped butter, I got whipped margarine, I don’t eat margarine, I was told nobody there eats butter. And oh well I was told, and charged for full amount. I didn’t eat the waffle just eat the 2 sausage patty's, milk and coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeltaRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good breakfast in a pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Be advised the blue plate now closes at 2 pm everyday; at least the one on Poplar ave. They serve breakfast until 2 as well. Plenty of food, good pancakes, biscuits and gravy. Portions large enough to share. A nice healthy selection as well. The coffee is pretty good too. We haven't had their blue plate lunch but the menu looks good. This is a regular morning ritual for us during the tennis tournament week at the Racquet club. It appears to be a regular for many of the tennis players as well.
Love the decor!

Helpful?
Thank travelismypassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Biscuit rating alone would be a 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had an early flight on Sunday morning, and were looking for a decent locals b fast around 7am. Found this on trip advisor and while not anything else (other than a chain, Perkins), was open we stopped. So glad we did! Service was not overly mushy friendly, but very very efficient. She even had us laughing, and my coffee cop never went empty. The grits and breakfast biscuits were truly the highlight! And good coffee to boot! We will be back on our next visit for sure! Downside was the over easy eggs were a but over done, and hubby thought the gravy was a but too peppery- but I will admit, we are northerners! Again biscuits were the fluffiest, and best we have had- even better then his southern Mammas!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LMT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing