We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ribs in Memphis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Blues City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2ND STREET
Transit: Bus and Taxi pick up and drop off are done directly across the street from our front door along with a Trolley Stop about one block away.
Wellington
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great ribs in Memphis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our first taste of ribs was here and no doubt about them just falling off the bone and delicious. It's a pretty basic ambiance and two main areas one in with the music and another. Even though we had booked for the music area we were seated away from the viewing tables a bit disappointing.The service was swift but a bit lacking in personality and attention to detail,gave us the payment details before asking if we wanted dessert which we were going to do, not to worry left anyway.For the ribs though a fantastic experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,097
    778
    293
    68
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great meal, excellent service. Big portions. Nice location on Beale Street. Would definitely eat here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OmahaNETraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GOOD EATS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We make sure to eat here at least once each trip to Memphis. Doesn't look like much from the outside (nothing on Beale Street does), but have never had a bad meal here. Husband swears by their shrimp, but I always try something different and haven't been disappointed. Service with a smile, too, which is a definite plus these days. Time it right...hit this place for lunch and then head down the street & around the corner to spend some time in the Rock & Soul Museum.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Memphis Ribs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Was in Memphis on business and decided to stay downtown to experience Beale Street. Was dissapointed with the Street. A one block long set up for tourists. Ribs are my deal though and I had to try this place. It is a good restaurant. They serve standard cafe food, Big crowd and everyone was having a good time. But, let me address the ribs. I got baby backs. Meat was fine, not as smokey as I like. Sauce was not much better than Ketchup, but hey we are in dry rub country. Overall I recommend the ribs. If for no other reason to check this off on your rib bucket list. Next time in Memphis I will venture a bit away from tourist central. Fries were not very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Diner on Beale Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We went late at night to get dessert . The other customers and the crowd on the street make for an entertaining wait (they have security at the door). We had the apple dumplings which are served in a cast iron skillet with ice cream and it was great. Server was a real hoot also, will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing