We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ribs & Gumbo hold the sides”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Blues City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2ND STREET
Transit: Bus and Taxi pick up and drop off are done directly across the street from our front door along with a Trolley Stop about one block away.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ribs & Gumbo hold the sides”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were pulled into Blues City Café by the "man on the street." He promised great ribs. We were not disappointed, Don't waste your time at Rendezvous, the ribs here are the real deal. The Gumbo was some of the best we have ever had as well. However, the sides (beans and cole slaw) do not deserve to be on the same plate. Really subpar, tasted like someone just opened a can. Go for the large and tell them to hold the sides! Cool ambience and great service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsajungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    788
    301
    68
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
172 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good ribs. We had the ribs and catfish combo - both were very good. I also tried the gumbo and really enjoyed the flavor. The service was very good. I would definitely recommend giving B.B.C. a try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AvengerD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, il
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“rockabilly dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We pulled into Memphis on New Year's Eve and went straight to the Blues City Cafe for some BBQ and great music. Instead of sitting next door at the Cafe, we bellied up to the bar next door at the Band Box which is their entertainment section. Same food, plus great bands. Tommy Lynn and Keith were the bartenders and our servers for the night. They really made the night a totally fun experience. Tommy Lynn was an outrageously energized personality. She hade great suggestions for our BBQ dinner suggesting the "Best Ribs on Beale Street, some garlic shrimp and a catfish side. Her bar dancing was also a big hit.
.
Lets start with the food. Catfish-good but needed some seasoning. A bit bland for my taste. A bit of salt an some hot sauce did the trick. Garlic Shrimp- again good but nothing that blew me away. The star of the show were the ribs. I usually don't like fall off the bone ribs because they taste like all the flavor has been cooked out of them. These rib were fall off the bone but with a rich smoky flavor and a nice crisp coating of BBQ sauce and rub. Some of the best ribs I have ever had. And, I have had my share of ribs.

The two rockabilly bands offered some great music. Alot of Buddy Holly, Elvis, Roy Orbison, Jerry Lee Lewis and the likes. This was one of the best New Year's Eves I have spent out. Beale Street was hoping. The entire staff was outstanding. Go experience this place for a great time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a1searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Steak Around!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my third visit to The Blues City Café. I absolutely love this place for it's atmosphere. It's part dive, part old school dining. Friendly wait staff, eclectic dining habitat, awesome food! Went in to get the ribs this time. Decided I wanted a steak instead. Huge portion, cooked perfectly....please stick a fork in me, I am done!!! Quite possibly the best steak I have ever had and that is saying something! Came with a generous portion of new potatoes, bread and a house salad, You won't be able to eat it all. So good! This place wins my heart every time. Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie37tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Night out”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Good ribs, gumbo fries were a hit also. Staff was attentive although a little odd. We were seated right away although in the third sitting area which had low lighting difficult to read the menu. Very good would defibately go back.

Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing