We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal on Beale”
Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Blues City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2ND STREET
Transit: Bus and Taxi pick up and drop off are done directly across the street from our front door along with a Trolley Stop about one block away.
New York
Level Contributor
331 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Meal on Beale”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Came in here twice for dinner and chowed down on some of the best ribs I ever had both times. The meat just falls right off of the bone, and the sauce is so delectable that I brought back three bottles. The sides and appetizers were good but nothing earth-shattering, and the beer selection was perfectly fine, if not the most voluminous.

Only thing that was somewhat lacking was the service - it was OK, but the waitress seemed like she'd rather be anywhere else than where she was. Another thing is that Blues City is rather loud; we didn't mind, but if you like a quieter, more sedate meal, this might not be the place for you. Still, if you're looking for a great meal on Beale, stop here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKB1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,154
    805
    305
    68
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, MUSIC & SERVICE”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

MY FAMILY WAS THERE FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BLUES CHALLENGE (IBC) ON BEALE STREET. I'VE NEVER BEEN TO MEMPHIS SO THE EXPERIENCE WAS EXCITING. The service at the Blues City Cafe was awesome! The place was packed but they remained polite and courteous. Our server (Chi chi) was THEE BEST! My family was amazed at how she never wrote down an order but remembered what we ordered, all 14 of us!!. Our glasses were never empty. The entire staff was great! From the shrimp to the delicious ribs, It is definitely a must dine!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShayPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs,NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blues City Cafe a real taste of Memphis cuisine”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I had a great lunch at the Blues City Cafe while in Memphis! My daughter and I loved the catfish(and I'm not much of a fish person) and the service was wonderful! You really get the whole Memphis-feeling with this place. It's simple, but the food is great, the atmosphere is inviting and there is no doubt what part of the country you are in. My husband and son loved their food too. All our plates left the table completely spotless. The prices are reasonable. There's no line to get in, but busy. It is located right on Beale Street. Try it. You'll like it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourguide2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blues City Cafe o, Guest Relations Manager at Blues City Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Tourguide2009

Thank You for your recent visit to our restaurant with your family and most for taking the time to post a comment about your experience.

We look forward to have all of you back soon to enjoy some more of the memphis flavors! Please you come back to the city, let us know!

Best Regards,

Martha Smith
martha@bluescitycafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are going to Memphis to get BBQ dont eat here. The ribs are just ok, very disappointed after eating at the Rendezvous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johndeere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Little Juke Joint”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Best Memphis style ribs!!! Catfish was also excellent! We came back later in the evening and enjoyed some music and a hearty Soul stew (beef stew). Abundous quantity, great price...best food around on Beale.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondie37tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blues City Cafe o, Guest Relations Manager at Blues City Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Blondie37tn

Thank You for your recent visit to our Restaurant; and for taking the time to post your experience.

We would love to have you back! The Blues City Cafe family is really blessed to have customers like you and hope that you visit us back again soon!

Best Regards,

Martha Smith
martha@bluescitycafe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing