We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Central BBQ Summer

Central BBQ Summer
Ranked #40 of 1,468 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
Restaurant details
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I love the pulled pork sandwich and the chips are amazing. My boyfriend gets the BBQ nachos, which are also delicious. A must try if you are in Memphis - we are natives and eat here all the time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jme102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    82
    36
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions, DIY service”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in on a whim for dinner & was pleasantly supprised by the find. Knowing some places around have a mid size sandwich I ordered a large. I had to go to the bar and get my own beer & by the time I got back to the table I had a monster of a meal. For $9 you can't beat the amount of quality food. Will definately return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diverguy117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mighty good ribs”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

When you have a hankering for BBQ, Memphis is the place to come. We had to have ribs and these were "fall off the bone, meaty and delish". We shared a full slab which came with 4 sides, plenty of food for 2 people. Pair it with a Ghost Rider Ale and you've got a taste of Memphis you won't soon forget!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TandemBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Service was slow.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Barbecue was OK, but service was very slow. This is Memphis people. If you are going to run a barbecue place here, the food has to be good and the service stellar.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ColonelReb32617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ in a lesser known Memphis restaurant.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Several places in Memphis get most of the national attention, but this one is as good as any of them, and offers great atmosphere as well. The BBQ sauce is sweet/hot (but not too hot at all) and the meat has that wonderful Memphis hickory flavor. The place "splits the difference" on the wet ribs/dry ribs issue, offering both, or even half-and-half if you like. The sides are outstanding as well (not an afterthought). The atmosphere is upbeat and fun, but not so noisy that you cannot enjoy good conversation. Our server was outstanding--attentive, friendly, and enthusiastic, without being intrusive. Anyone planning a trip to Memphis should put Central BBQ on Summer Avenue high on their list of places to go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fsmith58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central BBQ Summer also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ Summer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing