We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Memphis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tops Bar-B-Q

Tops Bar-B-Q
Ranked #584 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best in Memphis!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

They're the best folks. Great vinegar style sauce. It's a good simple BBQ place. The best location is on Summer Ave. Either one on Summer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NRMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    24
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bbq is good but check out the burgers!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Everyone digs the bbq here but I come for the burgers. This is one of the only places in Memphis that actually cooks your burger from scratch on a grill. They season it with good old salt and pepper and it is the best thing there in my opinion. I have to get a double cheese burger combo. bbq is ok but I prefer the burgers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank saltlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is the Memphis BBQ.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This was my last taste of home when I went into the service in 1984. Tops is tops to me and many more who know the taste of original Memphis BBQ. This is it folks! To me it can't be beat! You don't come here for the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tnearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Okay, but there's definitely better in Memphis”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We occasionally order Tops BBQ for work lunches and find that while it's decent, there's definitely better BBQ in town. The service is pretty average to almost rude sometimes, but the BBQ is edible. The pulled pork is usually pretty good. Their sauce tastes "off" to me. Not sweet, not spicy - it's nothing special. Try Central BBQ, Neely's, Interstate, or BBQ Shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank leiedtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good BBQ . . . usually”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tops has some of the better BBQ in Memphis, TN and we try to eat some each time we visit family there. Lately (past 9 months of 2012), there seems to have been several changes of management and the quality of the BBQ has varied widely. My last visit in November 2012, it was more back to normal. There are a number of Tops BBQ locations in Memphis and they are not well maintained places. But the food is good and we always get it to go. You can get a BBQ plate with meat and 2 sides. The bun is sliced and placed on the side. You can also get BBQ sandwiches. The beans, slaw, and fries are all good options. They also offer hamburgers that they cook when you order it. Give it a try! Tops is a good choice!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2doglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tops Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing