We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Chicken”

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Ranked #4 of 1,447 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Gus's we're all about the food! Gus's restaurants are low-key with a southern flare where you will hear soulful classics emitting from the jukebox. Many people call Gus's a "blues-infused southern eatery." At Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken we focus on the chicken! We begin by using quality chicken which is treated to our special preparation techniques before being marinated in our proprietary batter. Once it's properly fried to a crisp golden-brown, we serve it up with a plate full of southern inspired sides and a cold beer or sweet tea. The result? Customers line up at our door before we're even open!
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The chicken is quite good if it were not so hot with spice. I wish Gus's had a mild preparation then it would be almost like your momma used to fry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,096
    618
    180
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome chicken, a local icon”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Be prepared to order fast if you are there at lunchtime. The place gets crowded, and no one wants to wait to hear you ask questions about the menu. Two breasts, slaw and beans, iced tea, half sweet with lemon. Believe me, unless you want instant diabetes, get the tea watered down, its really SWEET!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank duchessvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“luther24”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the best fried chicken you could ever eat, it's spicy but not too spicy, it's juicy and tender, all at a great price. On the weekends be perpaired for a short wait but, it's worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sederia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken ever!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had seen this on Food Network and wanted to make sure we didn't miss it when in Memphis. The line for a table can be out the door and down the sidewalk at times, but worth every minute of the wait. The chicken is crispy, hot, and incredibly list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scoopy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bahk, Bahk, Bbbbaaaahhhkkkkk”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Little rinky dink place with old,cheap,beat-up furniture. Chicken was dried up. Don't know what the big deal is about this place. KFC is better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing