We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahk, Bahk, Bbbbaaaahhhkkkkk” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Ranked #4 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Gus's we're all about the food! Gus's restaurants are low-key with a southern flare where you will hear soulful classics emitting from the jukebox. Many people call Gus's a "blues-infused southern eatery." At Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken we focus on the chicken! We begin by using quality chicken which is treated to our special preparation techniques before being marinated in our proprietary batter. Once it's properly fried to a crisp golden-brown, we serve it up with a plate full of southern inspired sides and a cold beer or sweet tea. The result? Customers line up at our door before we're even open!
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bahk, Bahk, Bbbbaaaahhhkkkkk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Little rinky dink place with old,cheap,beat-up furniture. Chicken was dried up. Don't know what the big deal is about this place. KFC is better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,953
    585
    169
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Chicken...crowded if you go downtown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love good fried chicken, and Gus's does not disappoint. However, this location is often super crowded. Love the chicken though!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamillia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The title says it all. You wont find better fried chicken anywhere. My favorite restaurant locations are the original in Mason, TN and the downtown memphis location. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DickeyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really good chicken!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Their chicken is excellent. I've been to their Perkins location in east Memphis. They have very good food and excellent service, but the place is always packed. I have a problem with people walking behind my back and the waitress was very understanding and willing to help us move as soon as a table came open.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NRMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This placed is always packed. That alone should tell you how great the chicken is. Always good, fast service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing