We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste sensation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Ranked #4 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Gus's we're all about the food! Gus's restaurants are low-key with a southern flare where you will hear soulful classics emitting from the jukebox. Many people call Gus's a "blues-infused southern eatery." At Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken we focus on the chicken! We begin by using quality chicken which is treated to our special preparation techniques before being marinated in our proprietary batter. Once it's properly fried to a crisp golden-brown, we serve it up with a plate full of southern inspired sides and a cold beer or sweet tea. The result? Customers line up at our door before we're even open!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste sensation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We saw this restaurant on man verses food and put this on our to do list.. When we arrived we were worried as it looked a little seedy. But we walked inside about 5 pm and the place was packed! People everywhere waiting for chicken! I thought this looks promising! It's a very simple place and the menu is limited. But wow! The chicken was a taste sensation ! Best chicken I have ever tasted! Our waitress was delightful and walked out thinking yep that was definitely worth the hunt to find it! Yum yum yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loverso222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,953
    585
    169
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food..love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our 2nd time eating here, and we loved it even more this time. The fried chicken is amazing...spicy, not greasy...just really good. I had the fried rice and greens as side items. Get a forty of beer for $4.50. LOL.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbride0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good... for a franchise restaurant. Really really good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spoiler alert: If you're looking for an authentic, one-of-a-kind chicken joint in Memphis, you won't find it here; because this is not the original location. The original Gus's was in Mason Tennessee.

That said, the food here is wonderful, and the service is terrific. But I came to Memphis to eat at historic Memphis food institutions, so I was disappointed when I spotted another Gus's in Little Rock the next day.

If you have a lot of time in Memphis, then by all means, stop in for a meal. But if you're stopping through on a short visit, there are so many other famous places you should try first. Unless you can't stand barbecue, in which case, have at it... and lord help you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Seen Gus world famous fried chicken on the travel channel and knew it was a place I had to check out and it did not disappoint. The menu is not extensive but you go there for the chicken anyway. Go early because tables fill up fast and there's always people coming in. Great chicken

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I'm almost salivating at the memory! Busy, but very friendly with a quick turnaround. This is chicken how it's meant to be. Brilliant, with great deserts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharmlessNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing