We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family loved Gus'”

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Ranked #4 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Gus's we're all about the food! Gus's restaurants are low-key with a southern flare where you will hear soulful classics emitting from the jukebox. Many people call Gus's a "blues-infused southern eatery." At Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken we focus on the chicken! We begin by using quality chicken which is treated to our special preparation techniques before being marinated in our proprietary batter. Once it's properly fried to a crisp golden-brown, we serve it up with a plate full of southern inspired sides and a cold beer or sweet tea. The result? Customers line up at our door before we're even open!
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family loved Gus'”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we felt it was necessary to stop by Gus' and see if this chicken is worth all the hype. I am not a big fried chicken eater but my husband and son love fried chicken. They absolutely loved Gus' fried chicken. My husband said this was the best chicken he ever had.d We did not get any sides. I tried the chicken and it was excellent. Gus' is definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,999
    595
    172
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chicken done right!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Memphis is my home town and home to many great restaurants. On a recent visit, we went to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken Restaurant for lunch. This place is funky and fun! The new location on Mt. Moriah Rd. is small, clean and fast. We started our meal with the excellent fried dill pickles. They were crispy and plentiful and just downright good. Our chicken came to the table blazing hot and oozing with southern goodness. I substituted the mac and cheese for the beans which come with the plates. It was cheesy and creamy. Mom's was never that good! Back to the main event, the chicken. I ordered the two piece white chicken, mac and cheese and cole slaw. Usually I don't eat the skin but this was the exception. The whole breast was covered in the crispiest crust I've ever had so skin was in; Juicy crispy heaven. Gus's is doing it and doing it right. This place is a must for lovers of southern fried chicken!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank LRH27104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken in the world”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Easily the best fried chicken ever. Not only in chicken category but in any food category,
I miss the crap out this place and contemplating a road trip to Memphis just for fried chicken..
10/10

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brandon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Truly The Best Fried Chicken”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went here because we needed somewhere to eat in Memphis, and read about it on Tripadvisor, so we gave it a try. We are northerners, so we'd never had Fried Pickles or Fried Green Tomatoes, so we gave those a try. They were really good. Then we had the chicken. It was so delicious!!! Just the right amount of spice! Then of course we had to have the fried pies for dessert, just to have a fried trifecta of a meal! And they were really good too. Unnecessary evil, but good. Gotta say. Gotta go to this place whenever I go to Memphis!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of if not the best place to eat fried chicken. Large pieces with great sides what more do you need from a fried chicken joint?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing