We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bartender!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silky O'sullivan's

Silky O'sullivan's
Ranked #35 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great bartender!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stopped in here several times throughout our stay in Memphis. It was one of our first stops due to proximity of the Westin but we kept going back because of the bartender, Travis. His recommendations on food, drink and must see tours were right on the money. Our entire Memphis experience was better because of his recommendations. Oh,... and the drinks and BBQ nachos weren't bad either! Fun place!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwoNCTravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    315
    142
    41
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fountain-Side Seating Romantic; Restroom A Pit!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Enjoyed our meal here, sitting outside in the courtyard right next to the bubbling fountain. Husband had ribs and I ordered the Shrimp Po' Boy...Ribs were very good. So was my sandwich, but it was served oddly--the roll was scooped out like a boat, and the ingredients were placed inside separately--it ended up being good once I dug down and found the mayo! We shared the Cheesecake Wrap for dessert. Then I went to the restroom on the way out, and wish I hadn't! If I'd gone there before being seated, we would have walked out--Yes, it was that disgusting. The floor looked like it had never been cleaned, and the toilet wasn't far behind. At least they had enough TP for me to use as a buffer! That restroom visit brought the score of this restaurant down; after all, if the restroom looks bad where people can SEE, who knows what the KITCHEN is like!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mytrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best BBQ nachos”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Silky O'Sullivan's was very good. They have the best BBQ nachos. The ribs have a yummy tasting dry rub. The BBQ sauce was sweet and tangy - just perfect! The musicians playing on the outside patio added a nice touch to the restaurant. Love the goats!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmieusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were a group of ten and our server Bobby was fantastic. He got our drinks pronto and explained many things on the menu to us. Most of us had pulled pork dinners that were excellent. Everything was good and hot and reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are on Beale St.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Dive bar with awesome house bands”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We killed an afternoon in this place and it proved to be a gem in the rough. The house bands were great and the place was a complete dive bar more reminiscent of a hole in the wall on Bourbon St in New Orleans. Service was good and it was packed with a lot of older locals and college kids. Good crowd and good drunk watching if you want some entertainment. Not even sure if they serve food but based on the look of the place I would not eat there. If you go into the bathrooms be ready to burn your shoes, they look like the prison cells from the latest round of the Walking Dead on AMC.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank manu4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silky O'sullivan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing