We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Jim's Place Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jim's Place Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #315 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading the reviews, I was a little apprehensive when relatives wanted to eat here. I was pleasantly surprised! Our server was very attentive and very pleasant and the food was delicious. It was my first visit and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. I would definitely return on my next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkles47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What happened to this place?”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I come here a few times a year for meetings for lunch and have had a couple of dinners here as well.
After having several bad service issues the last few times I have been in w/ friends and associates, I have decided not to go back.
The service takes forever , even at lunchtime which is typically a time when people are more in a hurry. The waiter(s) seem to be oblivious to what is needed at tables(forks, water, condiments, etc.)
Also, I thought the Greek food was subpar all around, and not nearly enough of it. I know Greek food; been served it and lived around it most of my life(Tarpon Springs , Florida) and so I know what is good ....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MemphisMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food Good, Service Not So Good”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The food was nothing special, it was ok. The service was terrible. Our server was waiting on several tables and for some reason, we appeared to be left out. It took a while before we were able to order our appitizer. The bread and appitizer came to the table and we were finished eating them both before our order was taken. Several others were seated well after we were seated. They were served by the same person and they finished dinner before us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cokehoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Eight of us "old" friends ,went to dinner last night to celebrate birthdays.had reservations,but the table did not have water or toasted bread on table, we had to ask for them.
Server was very rude and had a loud big mouth.
When our salad's and soup's finally arrived,the entree's came before we had taken two bites.
One of the owner's finally came over for a minute.Two other severs ended up helping her at the end.Our family has been patrons at Jim's for many years,but it will be a long time before we go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orch35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Georgia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“So many things wrong!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch on at Thursday while out shopping with friends. We were seated right away but it took 10 minutes
for server to greet us. Then it took another 10 minutes to get our drink order. My coffee was brought to me lukewarm and when I asked for a refill it was also lukewarm. We did not get our food (all salads except 1 Cheeseburger) until we had been there a total of 1 hour. We kept trying to get our waitresses attention but she would walk by as if she didn't notice. We complained to the manager when we left and he said the Cheeseburger had been delivered to the wrong table and that is what held up the orders. What??? Have they ever heard of letting someone know or offering a complimentary bowl of soup.
I will not go back.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookwoman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Place Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jim's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing