We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great”
Review of J. Alexander's

J. Alexander's
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 1,468 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply great”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Went to this restaurant on a whim and we were pleasantly surprised. the décor and the food is great. the staff is attentive, polite and responsive. We had 3 children with us and the menu catered to them. We later found out this is one of the best restaurants in the Bartlett / Germantown area.

you have to try the carrot cake for dessert its great

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    55
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite eatin' place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Managers, Nick and Flanagan, run the most awesome up-scale restaurant I know of...just go there and try the Rattlesnake Pasta. You will not be disappointed...My husband feels that It is the most affordable and best food, best atmosphere of any place to dine in Memphis. We have had everything from the prime rib to Alex's salad and loved it all. On previous visits, they have accommodated up to 25 people in our party, and they handled it very professionally. And, the carrot cake is to DIE FOR!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rcy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy! Pricey but Worth It”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went to J Alexanders for the first time on January 14th for my birthday. I had the prime rib with the "adult" mac & cheese, my husband had the steak sandwich. My kids had burgers, which were HUGE for being off of the kid's menu. (They do now have an official kids' menu, but if you ask, they will prepare items for kids, and the price is substantially less.) My very-picky 9-year-old informed me we were coming back for his birthday. (Good-bye, McD's!) For dessert, we had the carrot cake and the chocolate cake. Everything was tasty and well-above-par. The service was impeccable. Next time I want to try the crab cakes!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch spot!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling through Memphis on our way from Little Rock, AR to North Carolina. Stopped for lunch on Tripadvisor recommendation. The restaurant was clean (I'm a neat freak especially the restrooms), well appointed and the server, Chris, was wonderful and attentive. Husband had Shrimp Cilantro that was delicious. I had Faucon Salad and Tortilla Soup. Both scrumptious. And the Spinach Dip is "to die for"! Hungry? Portions are extremely ample.

Helpful?
Thank SkysMomLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great server!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I love this restaurant! Amanda was my server and she has perfect timing. She is attentive but not worrysome. I had the crab cakes and they were amazing!! They have great wines and a great atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank acookiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J. Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing