We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The banana pudding saved it.”
Review of Cozy Corner

Cozy Corner
Ranked #13 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The banana pudding saved it.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Rib tips:greasy and VERY fatty. When you do get meat it was tasty and the hot sauce was pretty good but it was overwhelmed by the fat. The rib had a unique taste, almost like they had been boiled and then put on the grill, I didn't notice any smoke flavor.
Cole slaw: made with mustard and mayo I think but overall tasty enough, served cold just like it should be
Bean:Outstanding. Best part of the meal
Banana pudding: wonderful and surprisingly light, almost fluffy. All that for under $10.

The restaurant looks like a dump but the folks inside are friendly enough to easily bypass that. I could have rated it higher but the tips were so bad...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hatric26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    74
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
320 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Try the Cornish hen”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I took a colleague here for a quick birthday lunch. He ordered the Cornish hen on the recommendation of another teammate, and really enjoyed it. I ordered the BBQ bologna sandwich - it's too good for me to try anything else. :-) This place is definitely worth a visit - just go during daylight hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank huggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Recommended”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped here with the family during drive from Oklahoma City to Atlanta, Really good food and great prices. Will stop here the next time through!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickerbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“humble location but great food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Don't let this humble location fool you. The pork sandwich and the ribs are great, although the sides are not that special. The staff and the owner are very friendly. It's a cozy place especially for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When traveling, one of my passions is to explore local barbecue venues. No city is more famous for its barbecue than Memphis, and the Cozy Corner is acclaimed for being one of the best. My recent visit did not live up to the hype.
One of the specialties of the Cozy Corner is its barbecued cornish hen. I tried this and was disappointed. The bird was overcooked and dry. The sauce, which appeared to be applied as an afterthought, was more like flavored ketchup than a homemade sauce.
On a positive side, the desert was very good as was the service. And, in fairness, I did not sample the restaurant's pork barbecue. But based on their specialty cornish hen, I can't go back to the Cozy Corner when there are so many world class barbecue venues nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cozy Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing