We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local Restaurant...”

Salsa Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #145 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant...”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Whenever we travel to Memphis, visiting Salsa is almost a requirement. The staff is nice, the food is good, prices are reasonable and the place has a great atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Mexican”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Been going to Salsa since it opened in the 80's. Always good. Love the chillie rellenos. Staff is great. The owner is friendly and involved. Tacos have shredded beef instead of ground beef. A must stop when in Memphis.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food great, service so-so”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I ate here recently while in town on business. I picked it because it was walking distance from my hotel- very convenient location. I could smell the delicious aroma even before I walked in, and I will say that the food lived up to expectations. I got the snapper, which was really tasty, and I loved the black beans that came with it. The service, however, could be improved. The hostess never once smiled, and seated me back by the kitchen, where I could hear every word spoken and clanging pots in the kitchen and servers area. I realize that as I was dining alone, I didn't need to take up a big table, but the restaurant wasn't busy at all. When the waitress finally came, I asked to move, and she was hesitant to do so, but finally did move me a few tables away. Again, no friendliness at all. But overall, I would definitely eat here again just for the delicious fish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mckinna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just came here for drinks but it was a nice atmosphere and the bartender was friendly. Close to the hotel I was staying at.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ceeabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Favorite Mexican Restaurant In Memphis”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been going to Salsa for the last 17 years. The food has been consistent and delicious every time we go. I recommend the nachos, the pollo Colorado . The service is excellent. The atmosphere is charming. The kitchen is very accommodating with substitutions and changes. It is moderator busy. The wait is usually less than 10 minutes. Everything on the menu is fresh and cooked to order. The owner is almost always there and he checks every table to ask how you like the food. I am sure it is his keen eye that keeps the quality so consistent. He has his finger on the pulse of his restaurant. By the way, most of the staff have also worked here for the past 17 years and they remember our entire families name and order. Staff in this business rarely stick around unless the owner knows what he is doing. This is a family friendly restaurant with out door seating and a party room. Don't pass through Memphis without trying Salsa.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njs1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Salsa Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing