We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Lunch”
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #312 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
408 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Food is good; Service is good and they have a great value for lunch which includes salad and breadstick with your entrees.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The customer ought not to be always right”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As international travellers, this was our first and only visit to an Olive Garden, so I can't compare it to other restaurants in the same chain. We experienced no problems whatsoever during our dining experience but were puzzled to see four separate tables around us trying to scam free food in the form of replacement meals.

On one table, one of the diners ate 80% of her meal then declared she didn't like it. The staff offered her a replacement meal and for the first meal to be free (which surprised us given so much of it was eaten). The diner accepted, then asked for the remnants of the first meal to be boxed into a takeaway container.

On a separate table, another woman declared her meal was not up to standard so they offered her the same deal. She got a bit loud and demanded a replacement meal at a future date for her, her mother, and her child. The manager got involved and there was a lot of discussion before they eventually settled on free desserts for three people. When the desserts arrived, the diner went back to arguing for three free meals on a different date as well.

We don't know if this was atypical behaviour and other Olive Gardens don't experience this issue, or if it's a known scam because Olive Garden is generous to patrons but I'd recommend to management they might like to tell customers they're not always right. Who knows? This might even lead to reduced food prices for everyone else.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MQ007b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“it's Olive Garden.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

People - if you're visiting Memphis please try something local. There's BBQ, cool vegan places, funky micro breweries. If you're local and go here for lunch or whatnot be prepared for a super salty serving of blah italian. Sorry OG!

Helpful?
Thank Cat_9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Mainstream Alternative!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have got to say, that out of all the mainstream 'chain' places, The Olive Garden gets my highest marks for doing it right. I've eaten at most of the locations in the Memphis area, as well as the one in Southaven, MS, and they're all someplace my friends and family will return to again and again. Did you know that they actually send some bar and restaurant staff to Italy to study foods and wines? Not bad for a chain! Also, if they ever start selling off any of their buildings, I might just hock some stuff and buy one......they're so cozy, inside and out! I especially love the one they've put out on Poplar Ave. here in Memphis, on that little island of businesses where it meets I-240 out East. I can go with my mom or a girlfriend, chat, sip and snack there, then continue on next door for a Starbucks, all without having to drag my mother to a couple of locations! Great location, always friendly staff, great service, and have never had a bad meal there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yogideb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great food and they get you in and out in an orderly fashion.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing