We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place in memphis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill

Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill
Ranked #119 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place in memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is definitely a dive bar but has some of the best history to offer in the city. The cooks all know it and they'll share the stories of Ray Charles and how it was once a brothel. The ambiance is unforgettable. It is the home of the award-winning soul burger. Every time someone from out of town visits, my family takes them here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ooky57
Level Contributor
185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The coolest spookiest juke joint in Memphis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We walked into what we thought was an abandoned bar in the early afternoon and got an impromptu tour of the coolest spookiest juke joint in town, Played Ray Charles' piano upstairs, hoped the haunted jukebox would play but had to be satisifed with a coke and some living history.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved hanging out with Nate upstairs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I loved the creepy aspect of the upstairs. After reading the reviews about the old brothel and mention of ghosts, I headed straight upstairs to explore!! We got there around 11 pm and there was NO ONE around. I had to just guess about where to go and finally got to the end of the hall where a paper was attached to a door pointing the way to Nate. We entered a creepy old room and it was just the three of us. We got to hear Nate's stories over some beers. Throughout the night, other people came and went. Everyone was very friendly and enjoyed talking about the place. We met travelers from Ohio, California, and New York. Had a blast! Left around 2 pm! Then we came back the next day for a soul burger. It was pretty good but definitely not the best burger in the world. And their diet coke was yuck and served in a tiny plastic cup ($2!!). In the day light (and sober HA!), it really creeped me out to see how dirty the place looks. There were only two other people there eating, yet the Arcade across the street was packed!! I'm really surprised the place passes any kind of code inspection!! One of the bathrooms upstairs didn't even have running water in the sink. Next time, I'll stick to bottled beer and hang out in the bar upstairs!! That part was very cool!! I definitely want to bring some friends to see the place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MS_Lady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We got a tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stopped in for the soul burger and gumbo, YUM! The place is bursting with character. George was behind the bar and offered to give us a tour. He said many famous people stop in and they have a lot of pictures to prove it. He also told us about some movies that had been made there. They have a court yard in the back and the upstairs hasn't changed since the fifties. If only the walls could talk. The juke box will just start playing at random times. At one point it played a christmas tune and was done. Stop in if you get a chance!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wise_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The bar looks rundown on purpose, I guess, to make it look like you stepped back in time. The upstairs is spooky and would be fun to hang out in on Fri and Sat. The hamburger is fresh, but ordinary. Not really worth $5.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank madtravler711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill also viewed

 

Been to Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing