We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's Not To Like?”

Felicia Suzanne's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Felicia Suzanne's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,436 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What's Not To Like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

When my spouse reports that her salmon entrée was the best salmon she ever tasted and when my gulf tuna was the best tuna entrée I have ever had, I have to score this establishment with a five.

That's because the food trumps all. The service was OK, but really needs some improvement. Also, and this is a minor quibble, the rolls served looked, and tasted, like they came from the frozen food department of the supermarket. One would expect something more at superb restaurant like this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MemphisProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    60
    25
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loud drunk Americans and a miserable maitre'd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I'd booked Felicia Suzanne's as part of the surprise 40th birthday break for my wife and her family as an escape from the rib & burger shacks and we were all looking forward to it.
We arrived and were greeted by the most sour faced maitre'd I've ever had the misfortune to meet, there was no offer to take our jackets and a grumpy 'follow me' was all it took to make me think this is going to be one of those nights.
Jerome our waiter was happy enough and the menu read well, not sure what the point of a 'middle' course is but there was beef carpaccio so why not?
We all ordered, myself & father-in-law had a starter, middle & main and everyone else had 2 courses in various formats.
All starters came on time and were delicious, then there was a gap, our plates were cleared eventually and all mains arrived.... Where's middle gone? Anyone seen middle? Was middle the muse bouche of broccoli soup (could've been Covent garden soup)? I didn't order a tiny soup, I ordered a plate of raw cow?!?
We said nothing, mainly because the table of ten Americans next to us were talking and drinking, and looked like they had been for some time....you know what's worse than a loud American? 10 loud drunk Americans...
Anyway, mains were lovely, steaks superb although cabbage cooked in Budweiser & brown sugar is an acquired taste.
Desserts were ordered by me and FiL and again they were excellent, so much so that sis's hubby had one too, after seeing ours!
The load Americans left, we enjoyed 5 minutes of peace, got the bill (that included the 2 mystical middles),this was quickly corrected and left, disgruntled by the whole experience, which for the money should have been faultless.
So Felicia Suzanne here's a couple of pointers;
A happy maitre'd makes for a happy restaurant
If people ask for a 'middle' it's probably because they want a 'middle'

Your food is good, but if I came back to Memphis, I'd stick with what it does best and tour the rib shacks & BBQ haunts instead.
Anyone thinks I've been unkind to Americans in this review should know this, another table of Americans asked to move away from the load Americans AND everyone I've met in Memphis, apart from the maitre'd have been nothing but lovely, kind and friendly....

Helpful?
Thank TCB1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We attended a wedding party at Felicia Suzanne's Restaurant. The facilities are wonderful, the service is impecable and the food is marvelous. This is a resturant to go to when in Memphis.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alg507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food. spotty service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The food preparation was spot on and the creativity runs throughout the menu. The service was spotty as our waiter made excuses, forgot to provide silverware and generally provided service nowhere near par for this restaurant. The food will make us return but we will sit at the bar next time. We experience over five issues we would not expect at this caliber dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snapback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Southern Class and Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh..That is what Felicia Suzannes is about. She uses local farmers for her produce and meat.
As a local I can appreciate that and as a cosumer I can attest to the qaulity of the food and the unquie but not over the top way she brings the best out in her menu. We have eaten at some of the best resturants all over the world. FS is one of if not our favorite. Try the chicken livers...I know what your thinking.."chicken livers..nasty"..oohh they are soooo good.(along with the rest of the menu)

MB
Eads Tn

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLBRASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felicia Suzanne's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Felicia Suzanne's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing